hebdoOSM 512

05/05/2020-11/05/2020

lead picture

GraphHopper a besoin d’un retour d’information – les gens peuvent influencer le parcours de GraphHopper. 1 | © GraphHopper | données cartographiques © contributrices et contributeurs OpenStreetMap

Cartographie

  • _PG_ a publié dans son journal une « liste des nouvelles techniques apprises dans JOSM sur la base de la cartographie en ligne » (ru) (traduction automatique). Certains éléments de la liste peuvent être nouveaux, même pour les utilisateurs chevronnés de JOSM.
  • Jan Michel a proposé l’amélioration du marquage des véhicules en ajoutant electric_bicycle= et speed_pedelec= dans le schéma des droits d’accès.
  • Joseph Eisenberg explique comment la proposition de l’attribut amenity=motorcycle_taxi n’a pas été approuvée lors du vote sur le wiki. Il fait un certain nombre de remarques, dont la quatrième met en évidence le fait que le vote sur l’attribut est dominé par les personnes des pays du premier monde.
  • Le contributeur IsStatenIsland montre un souci du détail louable dans son rapport sur la définition plus précise de la frontière de l’État de New York à Ellis Island.
  • higa4 décrit (ja) (traduction automatique) comment analyser le marquage des données OSM avec OpenRefine.
  • La micro-cartographie ne s’arrête pas aux aires de jeux. Dans le forum allemand, une discussion a été lancée (de) (traduction automatique) sur les attributs d’une cabane dans un arbre sur une aire de jeu.

Communauté

  • Le portail Ça reste ouvert (fr) est désormais actif en Italie et l’interface utilisateur est traduite en italien. restiamoaperti.it (it) permet aux utilisateurs de visualiser et de mettre à jour la disponibilité des entreprises et d’autres informations spécifiques pendant l’urgence COVID-19. Toutes les données disponibles dans la carte sont basées sur OSM et sont activement mises à jour par la communauté OSM locale (it)(traduction automatique).
  • Un entretien avec Maggie Cawley et Alyssa Wright d’OSM US est disponible dans Sustain Ep. 28, un podcast sur les FLOSS durables.
  • Le contributeur Silka123 a résumé (ru) (traduction automatique) un projet de « cartographie sur canapé » de la communauté russe. 37 cartographes ont contribué à améliorer les données pour Iegorievsk, une ville de la région de Moscou. Cette cartographie sur canapé était différente des précédentes activités de cartographie à distance car il y avait beaucoup plus d’interactions sociales, non seulement des conversations mais aussi des transmissions vidéo pendant la cartographie et beaucoup de transfert de connaissances. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’un commentateur du billet de Silka123 ajoute son expérience personnelle, également positive.

Fondation OpenStreetMap

  • Tobias Knerr a écrit un texte sur la liste de discussion de l’OSMF intitulé : « Cadrage des pratiques d’embauche de la fondation » et a ouvert une longue discussion.
  • L’annonce de la candidature de Geolibres pour devenir un chapitre local de la Fondation OpenStreetMap en Argentine a suscité une discussion sur les obstacles juridiques à l’adhésion qui existent dans les statuts des chapitres locaux. Craig Allan a noté que seul le chapitre local en Islande a une adhésion illimitée et ouverte.
  • Le groupe de travail sur les données (DWG) de l’OSMF a publié des rapports d’activité pour le premier et le deuxième trimestre 2019. Ces rapports font état d’événements remarquables de vandalisme et de violations de droits d’auteur et constituent une lecture intéressante.
  • Le procès-verbal de la réunion du groupe de travail sur la Licence de l’OSMF du 9 avril a été publié.

Événements

  • Le programme de la conférence en ligne « State of the Map 2020 » (4 et 5 juillet) a été publié.

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • HOT présente le nouveau gestionnaire des tâches. Le frontal amélioré avec un éditeur iD intégré et des rôles tels que Validateurs, Cartographe et Gestionnaire de projet sont destinés à faciliter la cartographie collaborative.
  • Sawan Shariar, de la fondation OpenStreetMap Bangladesh, parle sur son blog de son parcours, du rôle de HOT dans le monde de la cartographie humanitaire et de son nouveau rôle de stagiaire en qualité des données pour HOT. L’embauche d’un « cartographe légendaire (très actif) » à un poste destiné à se préoccuper de la qualité des données devrait permettre, on le souhaite, de réduire le nombre de plaintes concernant les problèmes de qualité des données.

Données ouvertes

  • Des chercheurs de l’université de Southampton ont créé les premiers jeux de données spatiales harmonisées, en libre accès, sur les installations éoliennes et solaires. Les données sont basées sur les objets de l’infrastructure électrique dans OpenStreetMap. Ils ont analysé la distribution mondiale, estimé la production par une combinaison de techniques incluant d’autres données externes tierces. Les ensembles de données sont disponibles dans une gamme de formats : geopackages, shapefiles, ou CSV. Enfin et surtout, leur flux de données est documenté et peut être réexécuté à tout moment. Cela vaut la peine de vérifier dans OpenInfraMap si l’infrastructure électrique dans votre région est déjà correctement cartographiée.
  • Mikel Maron de Mapbox décrit comment les données sur la mobilité et les données cartographiques peuvent être utilisées pour analyser les risques qui découlent du « déconfinement » ou les différents types de celui-ci afin d’aider les communautés et les décideurs politiques.
  • L’équipe d’OpenStreetMap Croatie a traité et publié deux ensembles de données du Bureau de Zagreb pour la planification stratégique et le développement urbain, qui ont été libérés pour être utilisés avec OpenStreetMap. Il s’agit de données topographiques et de données de POI (traduction automatique) pour la ville de Zagreb.

Développement

  • GraphHopper a besoin d’un retour d’information pour une nouvelle fonctionnalité pour laquelle même des personnes sans aucune connaissance en programmation ou en Java peuvent agir sur les itinéraires générés par GraphHopper.
  • Jochen Topf poursuit ses articles de blog sur osm2pgsql. Le mois dernier, il a écrit sur les détails techniques et les changements qu’il a apportés pour réduire la « dette technique » dans le code. Il continue maintenant avec un billet sur son blog concernant son travail sur l’ajout de la « sortie flexible », une option d’osm2pgsql qui permet à l’utilisateur de spécifier les options de manipulation, de transformation et de stockage de la base de données pour chaque objet OSM.

Nouvelles versions

  • Joseph Eisenberg a annoncé la sortie de la v5.2.0 de la feuille de style OpenStreetMap Carto, qui est le style de la carte principale d’OSM. Les changements comprennent l’ajout du rendu de man_made=goods_conveyor et waterway=canal avec tunnel=flooded, la suppression du rendu surfacique des rues résidentielles, des routes non classées, des pistes cyclables, des sentiers et des pistes et bien d’autres changements, qui sont – comme d’habitude – listés sur GitHub.
  • Avec la version v19, Tobias Zwick a publié une grande mise à jour pour StreetComplete. Les ajouts les plus importants sont les statistiques et les réalisations par lesquelles les utilisateurs sont initiés à OpenStreetMap, ses éditeurs, la communauté et les projets connexes. Dans les notes de publication, il mentionne que ce sera probablement la dernière grande mise à jour pour un certain temps.

Connaissez-vous…

  • … Ed Pratt qui a fait le tour du monde en monocycle et a utilisé maps.me et OSM pour s’orienter ? Ses autres vidéos sont tout aussi divertissantes.
  • OSM Streak, l’application web ludique qui nous fait faire de petites tâches quotidiennes pour OpenStreetMap ? Il existe aussi un canal sur Telegram nommé @osm_streak.

Autres sujets géographiques

  • Dans le CityLab de Bloomberg, on trouve un article sur la façon dont les formes et les fonctions des cartes changent au cours de la pandémie du coronavirus. L’article décrit également les efforts de la Library of Congress afin de collecter les cartes et les visualisations de la pandémie et inclut une interview avec John Hessler de la Library of Congress.
  • Ces cartes illustrent l’influence du Covid-19 sur nos habitudes de mobilité.

Événements à venir

Beaucoup d’événements ont été annulés, veuillez vérifier l’agenda sur la page wiki pour consulter les mises à jour.

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Nakaner, PierZen, Rainero, Rogehm, SeverinGeo, SunCobalt, TheSwavu, derFred, jcr83, renecha.

3 thoughts on “hebdoOSM 512

  1. micet dit :

    Hi there
    I’m searching a way to link the OSM opening hours of a shop to a calendar file on a website.
    Is there a common standard how I could e.g. link a iCAL file where a shop owner could set Opening hours, hollydays, etc.
    If something like that not exist where could I put that propose?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

weeklyOSM 512

05/05/2020-11/05/2020

lead picture

GraphHopper needs feedback – people can influence the route of GraphHopper. 1 | © GraphHopper | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • _PG_ published (ru) (automatic translation) a list of techniques in his diary and tips for using JOSM that he has learned recently. Some things in the list may be new to even seasoned users of JOSM.
  • Jan Michel proposed improving vehicle tagging by including electric_bicycle= and speed_pedelec= into the schema for access rights.
  • Joseph Eisenberg wrote about how the proposal for amenity=motorcycle_taxi was not approved in a wiki vote. He makes a number of points, one which highlights how tag voting is dominated by people from first-world countries.
  • OpenStreetMap contributor IsStatenIsland shows a commendable attention to detail in their account of making the boundary of New York State on Ellis Island more accurate.
  • higa4 describes (ja) (automatic translation) how to analyse and manipulate OSM data tagging with OpenRefine.
  • Micromapping does not stop at playgrounds. In the German forum a discussion started (de) (automatic translation) about the tagging of a tree house in a playground.

Community

  • The portal Ça reste ouvert (fr) is now active in Italy and the user interface has been translated into Italian. restiamoaperti.it (it) allows users to visualise and update businesses’ availability and other specific information during the COVID-19 emergency. All of the data available in the map are based on OSM and are actively updated by the local OSM community. (it) (automatic translation)
  • Maggie Cawley and Alyssa Wright, from OSM US, are interviewed in Sustain Ep. 28, a podcast about sustainable FLOSS.
  • User Silka123 summarised (ru) (automatic translation) a ‘Couchmapping’ project of the Russian community. 37 mappers helped to improve the data for Yegoryevsk, a town in the region of Moscow. This couchmapping was different than previous remote mapping activities as there was much more social interaction, not just conversations but also live streams during the mapping and a lot of knowledge transfer. Hence, it is not surprising that one commenter on Silka123’s blog post describes his personal, positive experience.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • Tobias Knerr started a talk on the OSMF mailing list titled: ‘Framework for the foundation’s hiring practices’ and initiated an ongoing discussion.
  • The announcement of the application by Geolibres to become a local chapter of the OpenStreetMap Foundation in Argentina prompted a discussion about the legal barriers to becoming a member that exist in the by-laws of local chapters. Craig Allan noted that only the local chapter in Iceland has unlimited open-door membership.
  • The OSMF Data Working Group published activity reports for the first and second quarters of 2019. The reports disclose noteworthy events of vandalism and copyright violations and are an interesting read, particularly regarding a novel type of vandalism termed ‘Anti-Pokemon’.
  • The minutes of the meeting of the OSMF Licensing Working Group on 9 April have been published.

Events

  • The Programme for the online conference State of the Map 2020 (4 and 5 July) has been published.

Humanitarian OSM

  • HOT presented the new Tasking Manager. The improved frontend with integrated iD editor and mapping roles such as Validators, Mapper and Project Manager are intended to assist collaborative mapping.
  • Sawan Shariar, from the OpenStreetMap Bangladesh Foundation, blogged about his background, HOT’s role in the humanitarian mapping world and his new role as Data Quality Intern for HOT. The hire of a ‘Legendary Mapper (Highly Active)’ in a position intended to care about data quality will hopefully lower the number of complaints about data quality issues.

Open Data

  • Researchers from the University of Southampton have created the first global, open-access, harmonised spatial datasets of wind and solar installations. The data are based on power infrastructure objects in OpenStreetMap. They analysed global distribution and estimated output through a combination of techniques including other third-party external data. The datasets are available in a range of formats: geopackages, shapefiles, or comma-delimited text. Last but not least their data pipeline is documented and can be re-run anytime. It is worth checking in OpenInfraMap whether the power infrastructure around your area is mapped correctly.
  • Mikel Maron, from Mapbox, described how mobility data and map data can be used to analyse the risks which arise from a ‘re-opening’, or the different types thereof, to help communities and policymakers.
  • The OpenStreetMap Croatia team has processed and published two sets of data from the Zagreb City Office for the Strategic Planning and Development of the City, for which permission has been granted for use in OpenStreetMap. These are topographical data (automatic translation) and POI data (automatic translation) for the city.

Programming

  • [1] GraphHopper needs feedback for a new feature where even people without programming or Java knowledge can influence the routes produced by GraphHopper.
  • Jochen Topf continues his blog posts about osm2pgsql. Last month he wrote about the technical details and changes he made to reduce the ‘technical debt’ in the code. He now continues with a blog post about his work on adding ‘flex output’, an output option for osm2pgsql which allows the user to specify the handling, transformation and database storage options for each OSM object.

Releases

  • Joseph Eisenberg announced the release of v5.2.0 of the OpenStreetMap Carto style sheet, which is the style for OSM’s main map. The changes include adding rendering of man_made=goods_conveyor and waterway=canal with tunnel=flooded, removing rendering of residential, unclassified, cycleway, path, and track highway areas, and many more changes, which are as usual listed on GitHub.
  • With v19 Tobias Zwick has released a large update for StreetComplete. The most important additions are statistics and achievements through which users are introduced to OpenStreetMap, its editors, community and related projects. In the release notes, he mentions that this will probably be the last big update for some time.

Did you know …

  • … that Ed Pratt cycled around the world and used maps.me and OSM to navigate his way? The rest of his videos are enjoyable as well.
  • OSM Streak, the gamified web application that encourages you to do small tasks for OpenStreetMap every day? There is also a channel on Telegram named @osm_streak.

Other “geo” things

  • Bloomberg’s CityLab features an article on how forms and functions of maps change during the coronavirus. The article also highlights the efforts of the Library of Congress to collect maps and visualisations of the coronavirus pandemic and includes an interview with John Hessler, from the Library of Congress.
  • These maps reveal how COVID-19 has influenced our mobility patterns.

Upcoming Events

Many meetings are being cancelled – please check the calendar on the wiki page for updates.

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by AnisKoutsi, Nakaner, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, Sammyhawkrad, SunCobalt, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, hbogner, jinalfoflia.

3 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 512

  1. micet says:

    Hi there
    I’m searching a way to link the OSM opening hours of a shop to a calendar file on a website.
    Is there a common standard how I could e.g. link a iCAL file where a shop owner could set Opening hours, hollydays, etc.
    If something like that not exist where could I put that propose?

Comments are closed.