hebdoOSM 518

16/06/2020-22/06/2020

lead picture

Extension Mozilla pour accéder à différents fonds de carte et outils 1 | Données cartographiques © Contributrices et contributeurs OpenStreetMap

À notre propos

  • Depuis le numéro 516, nous publions également en langue chinoise, plus précisément en mandarin taïwanais et en chinois traditionnel tel qu’il est parlé et écrit à Taïwan. Nous sommes très heureux et espérons qu’en touchant de nouveaux lecteurs en Asie, nous pourrons accroître l’engouement pour OpenStreetMap.

Cartographie

  • Chuck Sanders recherche un consensus sur les suggestions de description des voies ferrées, en particulier sur la manière d’utiliser reporting_marks=* and operator=*.
  • L’idée d’avertir un utilisateur avant l’envoi de modifications pour une très grande zone a abouti à un ticket JOSM après avoir reçu un large écho sur la liste Talk. Le ticket indique que la prochaine version de JOSM inclura l’avertissement.
  • Florian Lohoff a réalisé (de) (traduction automatique) quelques visualisations intéressantes qui montrent les différences entre OSM et les données publiques dans la région de Cologne. Il ne montre pas seulement les bâtiments manquants mais aussi les différences de classification comme les garages ou des bâtiments avec uniquement building=yes.
  • Le vote pour la proposition de Garry Keenor pour décrire les voies ferrées utilisant une alimentation électrique avec un troisième ou un quatrième rail a commencé.
  • La proposition de Pelderson concernant l’ajout de nouveaux rôles dans les relations des itinéraires de loisirs, à savoir alternative, excursion, approche et connexion, a été approuvée par 36 voix pour, 1 voix contre et 1 abstention.
  • Joseph Eisenberg a mis à jour la proposition existante pour man_made=qanat, un type d’aqueduc souterrain pour l’approvisionnement en eau de manière traditionnelle (trouvé principalement au Moyen-Orient) et demande des commentaires.
  • Martijn van Exel s’est heurté à une zone contenant des données TIGER importées et a proposé de se filmer en train d’« essayer de démêler ce fouillis ». Selon son billet de blog, la cartographie en direct sur JOSM avec un public était amusante. En pratique, il a trouvé qu’il était plus facile de supprimer le désordre et de recommencer.
  • La communauté allemande a lancé une page wiki pour « l’objectif de la semaine » (de) (traduction automatique). Les tâches hebdomadaires y sont répertoriées et éditées. La semaine dernière, par exemple, les codes postaux ont été vérifiés. Le groupe s’organise sur Telegram.

Communauté

  • Geomob a publié une baladodiffusion avec Harry Wood d’OpenStreetMap Londres.
  • OpenStreetMap US a mis en place un code de conduite et défini un processus de modération des violations. Le code de conduite s’applique aux canaux de communication spécifiques à OSM US, tels que Slack, OSM-US Github, le groupe Facebook OSM-US et les événements OSM-US, mais pas à OpenStreetMap et aux canaux de communication mondiaux et locaux d’OpenStreetMap dans d’autres régions.
  • L’acquisition de Mapillary par Facebook suscite divers commentaires :
    • Dans un article sur medium.com, Joe Morrison s’interroge sur les motivations du rachat en évoquant trois hypothèses principales. L’article apporte également un éclairage sur des produits de Mapillary peu connus de la communauté OSM.
    • Harry Wood compare l’acquisition avec le rachat de GitHub par Microsoft.
    • Ilya Zverev évoque (ru) (traduction automatique) les conséquences sur l’avenir et la pérennité de Mapillary. Il imagine que Facebook pourrait prendre le pouvoir sur OSM dans les pays occidentaux comme il l’a fait avec le traçage à partir d’images satellites basé sur l’IA dans les pays en développement.
  • La question des fonctionnalités du site OSM revient aussi régulièrement que Noël en décembre. Cette fois, un utilisateur a demandé sur Reddit pourquoi les points d’intérêt ne sont pas cliquables.

Fondation OpenStreetMap

  • Le groupe de travail OSM sur les données a publié son rapport d’activité pour le premier trimestre 2020.

Événements

  • OSGeo, FOSSGIS et OpenStreetMap seront présents (de) (traduction automatique) à l’AGIT 2020 virtuel, la plus grande conférence et foire annuelle autrichienne sur l’information géographique.
  • Le State of the Map de cette année est imminent et le groupe de travail qui le prépare cherche de l’aide. Un billet de blog indique les moyens par lesquels les volontaires peuvent contribuer lors de l’événement en ligne des 4 et 5 juillet 2020.
  • L’Université de Heidelberg, en coopération avec Amnesty International Heidelberg, organisera le 30 juin 2020 un Mapathon sur la « cartographie des droits de l’homme ».

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • L’Audacious Project a annoncé son soutien pour cinq projets, dont HOT, qui vise à cartographier « un total d’un milliard de personnes » dans 94 des pays les plus vulnérables du monde au cours des cinq prochaines années. Sur la liste de diffusion Talk, Christoph Hormann rappelle qu’OSM ne décrit pas les personnes mais les structures qu’elles créent. Sur le blog de Mapbox, Mikel Maron revient sur l’histoire de HOT qu’il a cofondé. Une longue FAQ publiée par HOT comprend des détails intéressants sur le financement, les projets de HOT et l’impact sur OSM.

Cartes

  • Le célèbre contributeur Jidanni de Taiwan signale une carte basée sur OSM des usines illégales (traduction automatique). Elle est réalisée par une ONG environnementale qui appelle les citoyens à signaler les usines situées non pas dans une zone industrielle, mais sur des terres agricoles au mépris de la législation, un grave problème à Taiwan.

Données ouvertes

  • La Commission géospatiale du gouvernement britannique a publié le 16 juin sa très attendue vision stratégique. Plusieurs experts du domaine sont restés sur leur faim, comme le montrent les premières réactions de Jeni Tennison (responsable de l’ODI), Owen Boswarva et Leigh Dodds. Richard Fairhurst se demande si la commission a déjà entendu parler d’OpenStreetMap. Au moins, le programme de données ouvertes de l’Ordnance Survey continue.

Nouvelles versions

  • L’API de la plate-forme d’analyse historique d’OpenStreetMap, développée par l’équipe SIG de l’université de Heidelberg, a atteint la version 1.0.
  • QGIS v3.14 et 3.10.7 LTR (maintenance à long terme) sont disponibles .

Connaissez-vous…

  • … que vous pourriez vous régaler de sarcasmes ciblés de nerds en suivant @Anonymaps ?
  • [1] … l’extension de navigateur Mozilla pour aider la communauté OpenStreetMap à accéder facilement à différentes cartes et outils pour analyser les données OSM ?
  • Blender-OSM, un module complémentaire qui permet d’ajouter des données OSM et de terrain à Blender.

OSM dans les médias

  • John Stanworth a écrit une présentation d’OpenStreetMap pour Now Then, un magazine local d’art et de culture à Sheffield (publié via une application mobile pendant l’épidémie de Covid).
  • Les contributions d’OpenStreetMap Inde ont été mentionnées dans cet article.

Autres sujets géographiques

  • Tom MacWright, un nom familier pour de nombreuses personnes d’OSM, parle de l’« éthique en géographie » sur son blog. Comme toujours, cela a suscité une discussion sur hacker news, y compris la suggestion d’un autre éminent membre d’OSM que la licence WTFPL a pour effet de dissuader les « méchants » d’utiliser des logiciels sous cette licence.
  • Garmin a publié les détails de ses nouveaux modèles de la série Edge, l’Edge 1030 Plus et l’Edge 130 Plus. Ces nouveaux appareils apportent davantage des mises à jour que des fonctionnalités révolutionnaires.
  • meinGrün, une application web pour trouver des espaces verts, a été lancée (de) (traduction automatique) le 19 juin avec deux zones pilotes, Dresde & Heidelberg.
  • La BBC a fait un reportage sur les efforts de cartographie des fonds marins, un territoire encore inconnu à 81 %. L’article part du principe que le crowdsourcing jouera également un rôle dans ce domaine.
  • Les données cartographiques à haute définition (HD) sont importantes pour la technologie des voitures autonomes. Soutenue par le gouvernement taïwanais, l’université nationale Cheng Kung a fondé (traduction automatique) le centre de recherche sur les cartes à haute définition (HDMRC), qui aidera le gouvernement et l’industrie à élaborer des normes, à traiter les données cartographiques et à vérifier les cartes HD à Taïwan.

Événements à venir

Quoi Quand Pays
Guarda EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
Rennes Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
Prague Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
Montrouge Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
Le Cap HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
Londres Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
Berlin 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
Nantes Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
San José South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
Kandy 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Rogehm, SeverinGeo, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), Supaplex, TheSwavu, derFred, jcoupey, jcr83, renecha.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

weeklyOSM 518

16/06/2020-22/06/2020

lead picture

Switch to different maps and Tools with Mozilla extension 1 | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

About us

  • Since issue #516 we have been publishing in the Chinese language, more precisely Taiwanese Mandarin and Traditional Chinese as it is spoken and written in Taiwan. We are very happy and hope that by reaching new readers in Asia we can increase the enthusiasm for OpenStreetMap.

Mapping

  • Chuck Sanders is seeking a consensus for suggestions on rail tagging, in particular how to use reporting_marks=* and operator=*.
  • After the discussion of providing a pre-upload warning to users about edits with large bounding boxes, a ticket was created for JOSM. The idea was well-received on the Talk mailing list. The availability of the warning is scheduled for the next release of JOSM.
  • Florian Lohoff has made (de) (automatic translation) some interesting visualisations which show differences between OSM and public data in the Cologne area. He is showing not just missing buildings, but also differences in classification, such as garages or substations with just a building=yes tag.
  • Voting on Garry Keenor’s proposal to tag railway tracks with electrification systems using third or fourth rails has started.
  • Pelderson’s proposal for new roles in recreational route relations, namely alternative, excursion, approach and connection has been approved with 36 votes for, 1 vote against and 1 abstention.
  • Joseph Eisenberg has updated the existing proposal for man_made=qanat, a type of underground aqueduct constructed by traditional methods, found predominantly in the Middle East, and asks for comments.
  • Martijn van Exel found a TIGER import artifact and offered a live stream of him ‘trying to untangle this mess’. According to his blog post live mapping in JOSM with an audience was fun. In the end he found it was easier to delete the mess and start again.
  • The German community has launched a wiki page for the ‘Focus of the week(de) (automatic translation). There, weekly changing tasks are listed and edited. In the past week, for example, the postal codes were checked. The group organises itself on Telegram.

Community

  • Geomob Podcast published an interview with Harry Wood of OpenStreetMap London.
  • OpenStreetMap US has implemented a code of conduct and defined a process for moderation for violations. The code of conduct applies to communication channels specific to OSM-US, such as Slack, OSM-US Github, the OSM-US Facebook group, and OSM-US events, but not to OpenStreetMap and OpenStreetMap’s worldwide and local communication channels in other regions.
  • Various comments have been made about the acquisition of Mapillary by Facebook:
    • In an article on medium.com Joe Morrison asks why Facebook took over Mapillary. In his article he also sheds light on Mapillary’s products, which are not well known in the OSM community. Joe presents three reasons for the acquisition in the article.
    • Harry Wood compares the acquisition with Microsoft’s purchase of GitHub.
    • Ilya Zverev discusses (ru) (automatic translation) the consequences of the purchase for Mapillary’s future and sustainability. He guesses that Facebook might repeat the same ‘mistakes’ in Western countries as it did with AI-based tracing of satellite imagery in developing countries.
  • Requests for features to be added to OSM’s main map are as regular as Groundhog Day. This time a user asked, on Reddit, why points of interests aren’t clickable.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • OSM’s Data Working Group has released its activity report for the first quarter of 2020.

Events

  • OSGeo, FOSSGIS and OpenStreetMap will be present (de) (automatic translation) at the virtual AGIT 2020, Austria’s largest yearly geoinformation conference and fair.
  • This year’s SotM is looming and the State of the Map Working Group is looking for help. In a blog post the working group suggests ways volunteers can help with the online event, to be held on 4 and 5 July 2020.
  • The Heidelberg University, in cooperation with Amnesty International Heidelberg, will host a mapping event ‘Mapping Human Rights’ on 30 June 2020.

Humanitarian OSM

  • The Audacious Project has announced that it will support five projects as part of its programme, including HOT. HOT aims to map ‘a total of 1 billion people’ in 94 of the most vulnerable countries of the world over the next five years. On the Talk mailing list, Christoph Hormann reminded us that OSM does not map people but rather maps their environments. On the Mapbox blog, Mikel Maron looks back on the history of HOT, which he co-founded. A long FAQ, released by HOT, is worth a read as it includes some details about funding, HOT’s plans, and the impact on OSM.

Maps

  • Well-known Taiwanese mapper Jidanni mentioned that an environmental NGO has made a map of illegal factories on farmland (automatic translation). They ask citizens who know of such factories to report these, as there is a serious problem of factories outside industrial areas in Taiwan, which violate zoning laws and regulations.

Open Data

  • The UK Government’s Geospatial Commission launched its much-awaited national Geospatial Strategy on 16 June. Well-known commentators on geospatial open data were underwhelmed. Initial thoughts have come from: Jeni Tennison (head of ODI), Owen Boswarva, and Leigh Dodds. Richard Fairhurst wonders if the commission has ever heard of OpenStreetMap. At least Ordnance Survey OpenData continues.

Releases

  • The API for the OpenStreetMap history analysis platform, which has been developed by Heidelberg University’s GIScience Research Group, has reached version 1.0.
  • QGIS 3.14 and 3.10.7 LTR (long-term release) are now available for download.

Did you know …

  • … that you could feast on crowdsourced sarcasm and focused nerd wrath by following @Anonymaps?
  • [1] … the Mozilla (or Chrome) browser extension to help the OpenStreetMap community easily access different maps and tools to analyse OSM data?
  • Blender-OSM, an add-on that adds OSM and terrain data to the Blender?

OSM in the media

  • John Stanworth wrote an introduction to OpenStreetMap for Now Then, a local arts and culture magazine in Sheffield (the magazine is being published through an app during the COVID-19 epidemic).
  • OpenStreetMap India’s contributions have been well covered in this article.

Other “geo” things

  • Tom MacWright, a familiar name to many in OSM, writes about ‘Ethics in Geo’ in his blog. As ever, there’s a discussion at hacker news, including the suggestion, from another prominent OSMer, that WTFPL licensing has the effect of dissuading ‘bad guys’ from using software licensed that way.
  • Garmin has released details of its new Edge-series devices ‘Edge 1030 Plus’ and ‘Edge 130 Plus’. The new devices have received some feature updates but do no offer any groundbreaking new functions.
  • meinGrün, a webapp for finding green spaces, launched (de) (automatic translation) with two pilot areas, Dresden and Heidelberg, on 19 June.
  • The BBC reported about efforts to map the seabed. The article assumes that crowdsourcing will also play a role in mapping the seafloor, which is still 81 percent unknown territory.
  • High-definition (HD) map data is important for those interested in developing self-driving cars. Supported by the government of Taiwan, the National Cheng Kung University has founded (automatic translation) the High Definition Maps Research Center (HDMRC). The centre will help government and industry work on developing standards, processing map data, and verification of HD mapping in Taiwan.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Guarda EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
Rennes Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
Prague Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
Montrouge Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
Cape Town HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
London Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
Berlin 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
Nantes Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
San José South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
Kandy 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by AnisKoutsi, Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), SunCobalt, Supaplex, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, geologist, jinalfoflia, mOlind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *