週刊OSM 518

06/16/2020-06/22/2020

lead picture

運用 Mozilla 套件來切換到不同的地圖與工具 1 | 地圖資料 © 開放街圖貢獻者

關於我們

  • 自從 #516 期之後,我們開始發佈中文版本,精確來說是在台灣說寫的台灣華語版本。我們對此感到振奮並期望今後能與更多亞洲的讀者互動,同時能有更多愛好者加入開放街圖的行列。

畫地圖

  • Chuck Sanders 正在尋求 (自動翻譯) 在標示鐵路中,”reporting_marks = *” 和 “operator = *” 使用方法之共識。
  • 在上傳前警告使用者關於超大變更組合邊框問題,已經在 JOSM 提 ticket,並且在 Talk 郵件論壇 (自動翻譯) 有相當熱烈的討論,預計在下一次 JOSM 釋出時將會加入警告功能。
  • Florian Lohoff 將數據視覺化 (自動翻譯),展示了 OSM 與科隆地區公共數據之間的差異。他不僅展示了尚未建檔的建築物,還展示了建築物分類上的差異,例如只有 “building = yes” 的車庫或變電所。
  • Garry Keenor 所提出的關於如何標示使用第三軌或第四軌供電系統的鐵軌之提案 (自動翻譯) 已經開始投票表決。
  • Pelderson 針對休閒路線關聯新增成員角色的提案 (自動翻譯),要增加替代遊覽接近連接,已經以 36 票支持,1 票反對,1 票棄權,提案正式通過。
  • Joseph Eisenberg 更新 (自動翻譯) 既有的,中東常見的傳統地下管線 man_made=qanat 提案 (自動翻譯),並且徵求大家的意見。
  • Martijn van Exel 發現一個 TIGER 匯入問題,並且直播要解決匯入時造成的問題。根據他的部落格文章 (自動翻譯),他一邊用 JOSM 編輯一邊直播,有人看他編輯相當好玩。實務上來說,他發現刪除這一團糟然後重新開始更為容易。
  • 德國社群在 Wiki 頁面發起 “每週重點”. (de) (自動翻譯),打算每週列出一項不同的任務,來讓大家一起來編輯。過去一週,舉例來說,則是檢查地圖資料的郵遞區號。目前每週重點在 Telegram 頻道組織運作起來。

社群

  • Geomob Podcast 訪問 (自動翻譯) 開放街圖倫敦成員 Harry Wood。
  • 開放街圖美國分會頒佈實行 (自動翻譯) 行為準則 (自動翻譯),並且也發佈違反時的處理程序 (自動翻譯)。OSM-US 的溝通頻道如 Slack、OSM-US GitHub、OSM-US Facebook 社團與OSM-US 的活動都受到行為準則規範,但是開放街圖計畫以及全球和本地的開放街圖溝通頻道則不受到限制。
  • 關於 Facebook 收購 Mapillary 一事有相當多的評論:
    • 有一篇 Joe Morrison 寫在 Medium 的文章 (自動翻譯),詢問為什麼 Facebook 買下 Mapillary。文章當中指出也許線索在 Mapillary 的產品當中,有幾個開放街圖社群並不熟悉。Joe 還整理出為何會收購的三個理由。
    • Harry Wood 提出微軟買下 GitHub 這事來比較
    • lya Zverev 則討論 (ru) (自動翻譯)收購之後對於 Mapillary 的未來/永續性的影響。他猜測 Facebook 也許從西方國家奪取 OSM 的權力,就像他們在開發中國家利用 AI 輔助描繪衛星影像的物件這技術一樣。
  • 請求增加 OSM 主網站功能的詢問,頻繁程度就像《今天暫時停止》鬼打牆一樣。這一次是有人在 Reddit 提問 (自動翻譯) 為什麼標示在地圖上的興趣點無法點選。

開放街圖基金會

  • 開放街圖基金會資料工作小組釋出 (自動翻譯) 2020 年第一季度工作小組活動報告。

活動

  • OSGeo、FOSSGIS 和開放街圖一同在奧地利年度最大的地理資訊大會,AGIT 2020 的虛擬大會上,一起發表 (de) (自動翻譯)。
  • 儘管無法舉行實體大會,SotM 2020 即將在線上展開大會,歡迎大家不論身在地球那個角落都來共襄盛舉 (自動翻譯)!
  • 海德堡大學與國際特赦組織海德堡分會,在 2020 年 6 月 30 日一起舉行「畫人權地圖」的圖客趴活動。

人道救援畫地圖

  • 進取計畫 (Audacious Project) 日前宣佈支援 5 項計畫,包括 HOT。HOT 將鎖定 (自動翻譯) 全球最脆弱的 94 個國家,用五年時間為總數10 億人居住的地方畫地圖。在 Talk 郵件論壇當中,Christoph Hormann 提醒 (自動翻譯) 圖客,OSM並不記錄人,而是畫出人為活動產生的設施與環境。在 Mapbox 部落格,Mikel Maron 回顧 (自動翻譯) 過去他一同創立的 HOT 的歷史。HOT 發佈了一份長篇幅的 FAQ (自動翻譯),解說他們怎麼募款,HOT 的計畫與對 OSM 的影響,都蠻值得一讀的。

地圖

  • 臺灣有名的地圖狂積丹尼提及由環境 NGO 創建,要網友回報使用分區不符的農地工廠回報報網站,採用的底圖之一是 OSM。在臺灣不少工廠往往不是設立在編訂的工業區裡,反而是位於農地上,違法使用分區規定。

開放資料

  • 英國政府空間地理委員會 6 月 16 日啟動 (自動翻譯) 等待已久的國家空間地理策略。先前慣常會發表意見的評論人士還沒有太多意見,目前有些人有初步的想法,如 Jeni Tennison (ODI 主席)、Owen BoswarvaLeigh Dodds。Richard Fairhurt 好奇這些委員是否聽過開放街圖。不過至少國土測繪局繼續開放資料政策。

釋出

  • 由海德堡大學地理科學研究群開發的開放街圖歷史分析平台 API,已經釋出 1.0 版本。
  • QGIS 3.14 和 3.10.7 LTR (長期支援版本釋出) 現已提供下載了。

你知道嗎?

  • 你能夠透過追蹤 @Anonymaps 來體會群眾憤怒與有強迫症的書呆子嘲諷嗎?
  • Mozilla 瀏覽器套件,能幫助開放街圖社群更容易連到地圖與不同的分析工具 (自動翻譯) 嗎?
  • 套件 Blender-OSM 能夠協助 Blender 處理 OSM 與地表資料。

媒體中的 OSM

  • John Stanworth 在雪菲爾當地藝術與文化雜誌《現在與過去》撰文 (自動翻譯) 簡單介紹開放街圖 (這份雜誌因 Covid 疫情關係改用 App 散佈)。
  • 開放街圖印度社群的貢獻在這篇文章 (自動翻譯) 當中詳詳細細的記載。

其他地理事情

  • OSM 圈子相當熟的名字 Tom MacWright,最近寫了篇部落格文章《地理領域的道德》 (Ethics in Geo) (自動翻譯),並且在 Hacker news (自動翻譯) 引發其他 OSM 參與者訴說關於 WTFPL 軟體授權能阻擋壞傢伙濫用的討論。
  • Garmin 釋出 (自動翻譯) Edge 系列裝置 Edge 1030 PlusEdge 130 Plus 的詳細規格。儘管已經有更新不少功能,但仍沒有殺手級的新功能。
  • 網路應用程式 meinGrün 能用來找綠色空間, 已經在 6 月 19 日啟用 (de) (自動翻譯)兩個試運行地區 – 德勒斯登和海德堡。
  • BBC 報導 (自動翻譯) 關於嘗試畫海床地圖的舉動。海洋當中有 81% 的地方仍是未知的,報導預估群眾外包的方式將在海床地圖的繪製上發揮重要角色。
  • 高精地圖對於發展自駕車技術相當重要。國立成功大學在國家力量支持下,成立高精地圖研究發展中心,將會協助政府與產業界制訂臺灣高精地圖的規範、地圖資料處理與驗證程序。

未來活動

地點 活動名稱 日期 所在國
瓜爾達 EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
杜塞道夫 Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
雷恩 Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
布拉格 Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
蒙鲁日 Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
斯圖加特 Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
開普敦 HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
台北市 OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
倫敦 Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
里昂 Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
柏林 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
南特 Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
聖荷西 South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
慕尼黑 Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
康提 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

註: 你也可以在這裡展示你發起的活動!只須在行事曆上塡妥活動資訊即可。 只有記載於行事曆上的活動資訊才會在《週刊OSM》列出。你也可以在行事曆預覽檢查你提交的活動, 並作出適當更正

這期 weeklyOSM 由 Hotspot Racer, Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, Rogehm, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), Supaplex, TheSwavu, assanges, derFred 編譯 ##team##

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *

weeklyOSM 518

16/06/2020-22/06/2020

lead picture

Switch to different maps and Tools with Mozilla extension 1 | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

About us

  • Since issue #516 we have been publishing in the Chinese language, more precisely Taiwanese Mandarin and Traditional Chinese as it is spoken and written in Taiwan. We are very happy and hope that by reaching new readers in Asia we can increase the enthusiasm for OpenStreetMap.

Mapping

  • Chuck Sanders is seeking a consensus for suggestions on rail tagging, in particular how to use reporting_marks=* and operator=*.
  • After the discussion of providing a pre-upload warning to users about edits with large bounding boxes, a ticket was created for JOSM. The idea was well-received on the Talk mailing list. The availability of the warning is scheduled for the next release of JOSM.
  • Florian Lohoff has made (de) (automatic translation) some interesting visualisations which show differences between OSM and public data in the Cologne area. He is showing not just missing buildings, but also differences in classification, such as garages or substations with just a building=yes tag.
  • Voting on Garry Keenor’s proposal to tag railway tracks with electrification systems using third or fourth rails has started.
  • Pelderson’s proposal for new roles in recreational route relations, namely alternative, excursion, approach and connection has been approved with 36 votes for, 1 vote against and 1 abstention.
  • Joseph Eisenberg has updated the existing proposal for man_made=qanat, a type of underground aqueduct constructed by traditional methods, found predominantly in the Middle East, and asks for comments.
  • Martijn van Exel found a TIGER import artifact and offered a live stream of him ‘trying to untangle this mess’. According to his blog post live mapping in JOSM with an audience was fun. In the end he found it was easier to delete the mess and start again.
  • The German community has launched a wiki page for the ‘Focus of the week(de) (automatic translation). There, weekly changing tasks are listed and edited. In the past week, for example, the postal codes were checked. The group organises itself on Telegram.

Community

  • Geomob Podcast published an interview with Harry Wood of OpenStreetMap London.
  • OpenStreetMap US has implemented a code of conduct and defined a process for moderation for violations. The code of conduct applies to communication channels specific to OSM-US, such as Slack, OSM-US Github, the OSM-US Facebook group, and OSM-US events, but not to OpenStreetMap and OpenStreetMap’s worldwide and local communication channels in other regions.
  • Various comments have been made about the acquisition of Mapillary by Facebook:
    • In an article on medium.com Joe Morrison asks why Facebook took over Mapillary. In his article he also sheds light on Mapillary’s products, which are not well known in the OSM community. Joe presents three reasons for the acquisition in the article.
    • Harry Wood compares the acquisition with Microsoft’s purchase of GitHub.
    • Ilya Zverev discusses (ru) (automatic translation) the consequences of the purchase for Mapillary’s future and sustainability. He guesses that Facebook might repeat the same ‘mistakes’ in Western countries as it did with AI-based tracing of satellite imagery in developing countries.
  • Requests for features to be added to OSM’s main map are as regular as Groundhog Day. This time a user asked, on Reddit, why points of interests aren’t clickable.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • OSM’s Data Working Group has released its activity report for the first quarter of 2020.

Events

  • OSGeo, FOSSGIS and OpenStreetMap will be present (de) (automatic translation) at the virtual AGIT 2020, Austria’s largest yearly geoinformation conference and fair.
  • This year’s SotM is looming and the State of the Map Working Group is looking for help. In a blog post the working group suggests ways volunteers can help with the online event, to be held on 4 and 5 July 2020.
  • The Heidelberg University, in cooperation with Amnesty International Heidelberg, will host a mapping event ‘Mapping Human Rights’ on 30 June 2020.

Humanitarian OSM

  • The Audacious Project has announced that it will support five projects as part of its programme, including HOT. HOT aims to map ‘a total of 1 billion people’ in 94 of the most vulnerable countries of the world over the next five years. On the Talk mailing list, Christoph Hormann reminded us that OSM does not map people but rather maps their environments. On the Mapbox blog, Mikel Maron looks back on the history of HOT, which he co-founded. A long FAQ, released by HOT, is worth a read as it includes some details about funding, HOT’s plans, and the impact on OSM.

Maps

  • Well-known Taiwanese mapper Jidanni mentioned that an environmental NGO has made a map of illegal factories on farmland (automatic translation). They ask citizens who know of such factories to report these, as there is a serious problem of factories outside industrial areas in Taiwan, which violate zoning laws and regulations.

Open Data

  • The UK Government’s Geospatial Commission launched its much-awaited national Geospatial Strategy on 16 June. Well-known commentators on geospatial open data were underwhelmed. Initial thoughts have come from: Jeni Tennison (head of ODI), Owen Boswarva, and Leigh Dodds. Richard Fairhurst wonders if the commission has ever heard of OpenStreetMap. At least Ordnance Survey OpenData continues.

Releases

  • The API for the OpenStreetMap history analysis platform, which has been developed by Heidelberg University’s GIScience Research Group, has reached version 1.0.
  • QGIS 3.14 and 3.10.7 LTR (long-term release) are now available for download.

Did you know …

  • … that you could feast on crowdsourced sarcasm and focused nerd wrath by following @Anonymaps?
  • [1] … the Mozilla (or Chrome) browser extension to help the OpenStreetMap community easily access different maps and tools to analyse OSM data?
  • Blender-OSM, an add-on that adds OSM and terrain data to the Blender?

OSM in the media

  • John Stanworth wrote an introduction to OpenStreetMap for Now Then, a local arts and culture magazine in Sheffield (the magazine is being published through an app during the COVID-19 epidemic).
  • OpenStreetMap India’s contributions have been well covered in this article.

Other “geo” things

  • Tom MacWright, a familiar name to many in OSM, writes about ‘Ethics in Geo’ in his blog. As ever, there’s a discussion at hacker news, including the suggestion, from another prominent OSMer, that WTFPL licensing has the effect of dissuading ‘bad guys’ from using software licensed that way.
  • Garmin has released details of its new Edge-series devices ‘Edge 1030 Plus’ and ‘Edge 130 Plus’. The new devices have received some feature updates but do no offer any groundbreaking new functions.
  • meinGrün, a webapp for finding green spaces, launched (de) (automatic translation) with two pilot areas, Dresden and Heidelberg, on 19 June.
  • The BBC reported about efforts to map the seabed. The article assumes that crowdsourcing will also play a role in mapping the seafloor, which is still 81 percent unknown territory.
  • High-definition (HD) map data is important for those interested in developing self-driving cars. Supported by the government of Taiwan, the National Cheng Kung University has founded (automatic translation) the High Definition Maps Research Center (HDMRC). The centre will help government and industry work on developing standards, processing map data, and verification of HD mapping in Taiwan.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Guarda EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
Rennes Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
Prague Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
Montrouge Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
Cape Town HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
London Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
Berlin 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
Nantes Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
San José South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
Kandy 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by AnisKoutsi, Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), SunCobalt, Supaplex, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, geologist, jinalfoflia, mOlind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *