ЕженедельникОСМ 518

16.06.2020-22.06.2020

lead picture

Switch to different maps and Tools 1 | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

О нас

  • С выпуска №516 Еженедельник OSM выходит на китайском языке, а именно на тайваньском мандарине и на традиционном китайском, которые используются в Тайване. Мы очень рады и надеемся, что, получив новых читателей из Азии, мы сможем повысить заинтересованность в OpenStreetMap.

Картографирование

  • Чак Сандерс пытается прийти к общему знаменателю в обсуждении правил тегирования железных дорог Северной Америки.
  • Результатом обсуждения идеи о том, что редакторам стоит предупреждать пользователя при отправке пакетов правок, затрагивающих большую область, стал тикет для JOSM. Реализация запланирована на следующий релиз.
  • Флориан Лохофф визуализировал (de) (перевод) различия между OSM и открытыми данными в районе Кёльна. Показаны отсутствующие здания, а также ошибки в классификации, например, гаражи или подстанции с тегом building=yes.
  • Началось голосование по уточнению схемы тегирования железнодорожных путей, электрифицированных двумя контактными рельсами, предложенному Гарри Кинором.
  • Предложение пользователя Pelderson о введении новых ролей alternative, excursion, approach и connection для отношения, описывающего рекреационные маршруты, было принято 36 голосами за. Один человек был против и один воздержался.
  • Джозеф Эйзенберг высказал свои соображения по поводу предложения о введении тега man_made=qanat для доиндустриальных водопроводных тоннелей, проложенных под землёй, которые существуют преимущественно на Ближнем Востоке, и приглашает читателей к дискуссии.
  • Мартин ван Эксель нашел ошибку импорта из TIGER и провёл (автоматический перевод) стрим о том, как он «разбирался в этом беспорядке».
  • Немецкое сообщество запустило вики-страницу (de) «Приоритеты недели» (перевод). Еженедельно там публикуются приоритетные задания. За прошедшую неделю, например, были проверены почтовые индексы. Для координации создали группу в Телеграме.

Сообщество

  • Geomob Podcast выпустил интервью с Гарри Вудом из OpenStreetMap London.
  • В OpenStreetMap US был принят Этический кодекс и определен процесс модерации нарушений. Этический кодекс применяется к мероприятия OSM US и каналам общения OSM US: Slack, OSM US на Github, группа OSM US на Facebook. Принятые правила не относятся к международным группам и местным сообществам OpenStreetMap.
  • Широко обсуждалась новость о приобретении Mapillary Фейсбуком:
    • В статье на medium.com Джо Моррисон задаётся вопросом, зачем Фейсбуку Mapillary. Кроме того, статья даёт представление о продуктах Mapillary, не слишком известных в сообществе OSM. Моррисон приводит три возможных причины для решения о покупке.
    • Гарри Вуд сравнивает сделку с покупкой GitHub Майкрософтом.
    • Илья Зверев рассуждает о последствиях покупки Mapillary для будущего и долговечности проекта. Он предполагает, что Facebook может повторить в западных странах те же «ошибки», которые возникали при автоматической обработке спутниковых фотографий развивающихся стран.
  • Просьбы об улучшениях на основной карте OSM возникают с завидной регулярностью. На этот раз пользователь Reddit спросил (автоматический перевод), почему POI не кликаются.

Фонд OpenStreetMap

  • Рабочая группа по данным (DWG) опубликовала отчет о своей деятельности за первый квартал 2020 года.

События

  • OSGeo, FOSSGIS и OpenStreetMap будут присутствовать (de) (автоматический перевод) на крупнейшей ежегодной австрийской ГИС-конференции AGIT 2020. В этом году она будет проходить онлайн.
  • Осталось совсем мало времени до State of the Map, и организаторам нужна помощь. В своем блоге организаторы пишут, чем могут помочь волонтёры.
  • Университет Гейдельберга планирует 30 июня провести онлайн-мероприятие “Mapping Human Rights” совместно с Amnesty International Heidelberg.

Гуманитарный OSM

  • Компания Audacious Project объявила о поддержке пяти различных проектов в рамках своей программы. В числе поддержанных проектов вошёл и Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team, цель которого — нанести на карту «в общей сложности миллиард человек» в 94 наиболее уязвимых странах мира за ближайшие пять лет. Кристоф Хорманн напомнил, что OSM картографирует не людей, а их среду обитания, а Микель Марон вспоминает историю HOT, где он был сооснователем. Достоин внимания и обширный FAQ, выпущенный HOT, где приведены подробности о финансировании, планах HOT и влиянии проекта на OSM.

Карты

  • Известный тайваньский картограф Джиданни сообщил, что одна из общественных экологических организаций составила карту фабрик, незаконно построенных на землях, предназначенных для сельского хозяйства (автоматический перевод). Они просят граждан сообщать о таких фабриках, поскольку в Тайване есть серьёзные проблемы с фабриками, строящимися за пределами промышленных зон в нарушение закона и правил зонирования.

Открытые данные

  • Британская правительственная Комиссия по геопространственным исследованиям приступила к реализации национального проекта в области геопространственных данных. Эксперты по открытым геопространственным данным высказывают скептические соображения. В твиттере об этом пишут глава ODI Джени Теннисон, Оуэн Босварва и Ли Доддс. Также Ричард Фэйрхёрст интересуется, в курсе ли комиссия о существовании OpenStreetMap. Но, во всяком случае, Британское картографическое управление продолжит предоставлять свой набор открытых данных OpenData.

Релизы

А вы знаете …

  • … о том, что в Twitter есть сообщество очень злых мапперов @Anonymaps?
  • [1] … о существовании расширений для Mozilla и Chrome, которые упрощают доступ к различным картам и инструментам для анализа данных OSM?
  • … о существовании дополнения Blender-OSM, которое добавляет данные OSM и информацию о местности в Blender?

OSM в прессе

  • Джон Стэнворт написал введение в OpenStreetMap для Now Then, шеффилдского журнала по искусству и культуре (во время эпидемии COVID-19 журнал выходит в приложении).
  • Вклад индийского сообщества OpenStreetMap был хорошо описан в этой статье.

Другие “гео” события

  • Знакомый многим в OSM Том Макрайт написал пост «Этика в Geo» в своём блоге. Другой известный пользователь OSM в обсуждении этичных лицензий, описанных в этой статье, отметил, что открытая лицензия WTFPL может предотвратить использование программ, лицензированных таким образом, «нехорошими людьми».
  • Компания Garmin опубликовала подробности о своих новых устройствах серии Edge: Edge 1030 Plus и Edge 130 Plus.
  • 19 июня запускается (de) (перевод) веб-приложение для поиска парков и скверов meinGrün с двумя пилотными участками: Дрезден и Гейдельберг.
  • Би-би-си сообщила о том, что картированы уже 19% морского дна планеты. В статье высказывается предположение, что краудсорсинг сыграет свою роль в продолжении процесса.
  • Картографические данные высокого разрешения важны для развития технологий беспилотного транспорта. Национальный университет Чен Кунг при поддержке правительства Тайваня основал (перевод) Научно-исследовательский центр карт высокого разрешения (HDMRC), который будет заниматься технологиями обработки и верификации данных карт высокого разрешения в Тайване.

Предстоящие события

Где Что Дата Страна
Гуарда EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
Дюссельдорф Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
Ренн Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
Прага Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
Монруж Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
Штутгарт Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
Кейптаун HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
Тайбэй OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
Лондон Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
Лион Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
Берлин 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
Нант Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
Сан-Хосе South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
Мюнхен Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
Канди 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Примечание: Если вы хотите видеть своё мероприятие здесь, добавьте его в календарь. Только данные оттуда появятся в ЕженедельникеОСМ. Не забудьте указать город и страну.

Этот выпуск ЕженедельникаОСМ был подготовлен командой из Korney San, Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, Rogehm, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), Supaplex, TheSwavuderFred, mOlind, richter_fn.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

weeklyOSM 518

16/06/2020-22/06/2020

lead picture

Switch to different maps and Tools with Mozilla extension 1 | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

About us

  • Since issue #516 we have been publishing in the Chinese language, more precisely Taiwanese Mandarin and Traditional Chinese as it is spoken and written in Taiwan. We are very happy and hope that by reaching new readers in Asia we can increase the enthusiasm for OpenStreetMap.

Mapping

  • Chuck Sanders is seeking a consensus for suggestions on rail tagging, in particular how to use reporting_marks=* and operator=*.
  • After the discussion of providing a pre-upload warning to users about edits with large bounding boxes, a ticket was created for JOSM. The idea was well-received on the Talk mailing list. The availability of the warning is scheduled for the next release of JOSM.
  • Florian Lohoff has made (de) (automatic translation) some interesting visualisations which show differences between OSM and public data in the Cologne area. He is showing not just missing buildings, but also differences in classification, such as garages or substations with just a building=yes tag.
  • Voting on Garry Keenor’s proposal to tag railway tracks with electrification systems using third or fourth rails has started.
  • Pelderson’s proposal for new roles in recreational route relations, namely alternative, excursion, approach and connection has been approved with 36 votes for, 1 vote against and 1 abstention.
  • Joseph Eisenberg has updated the existing proposal for man_made=qanat, a type of underground aqueduct constructed by traditional methods, found predominantly in the Middle East, and asks for comments.
  • Martijn van Exel found a TIGER import artifact and offered a live stream of him ‘trying to untangle this mess’. According to his blog post live mapping in JOSM with an audience was fun. In the end he found it was easier to delete the mess and start again.
  • The German community has launched a wiki page for the ‘Focus of the week(de) (automatic translation). There, weekly changing tasks are listed and edited. In the past week, for example, the postal codes were checked. The group organises itself on Telegram.

Community

  • Geomob Podcast published an interview with Harry Wood of OpenStreetMap London.
  • OpenStreetMap US has implemented a code of conduct and defined a process for moderation for violations. The code of conduct applies to communication channels specific to OSM-US, such as Slack, OSM-US Github, the OSM-US Facebook group, and OSM-US events, but not to OpenStreetMap and OpenStreetMap’s worldwide and local communication channels in other regions.
  • Various comments have been made about the acquisition of Mapillary by Facebook:
    • In an article on medium.com Joe Morrison asks why Facebook took over Mapillary. In his article he also sheds light on Mapillary’s products, which are not well known in the OSM community. Joe presents three reasons for the acquisition in the article.
    • Harry Wood compares the acquisition with Microsoft’s purchase of GitHub.
    • Ilya Zverev discusses (ru) (automatic translation) the consequences of the purchase for Mapillary’s future and sustainability. He guesses that Facebook might repeat the same ‘mistakes’ in Western countries as it did with AI-based tracing of satellite imagery in developing countries.
  • Requests for features to be added to OSM’s main map are as regular as Groundhog Day. This time a user asked, on Reddit, why points of interests aren’t clickable.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • OSM’s Data Working Group has released its activity report for the first quarter of 2020.

Events

  • OSGeo, FOSSGIS and OpenStreetMap will be present (de) (automatic translation) at the virtual AGIT 2020, Austria’s largest yearly geoinformation conference and fair.
  • This year’s SotM is looming and the State of the Map Working Group is looking for help. In a blog post the working group suggests ways volunteers can help with the online event, to be held on 4 and 5 July 2020.
  • The Heidelberg University, in cooperation with Amnesty International Heidelberg, will host a mapping event ‘Mapping Human Rights’ on 30 June 2020.

Humanitarian OSM

  • The Audacious Project has announced that it will support five projects as part of its programme, including HOT. HOT aims to map ‘a total of 1 billion people’ in 94 of the most vulnerable countries of the world over the next five years. On the Talk mailing list, Christoph Hormann reminded us that OSM does not map people but rather maps their environments. On the Mapbox blog, Mikel Maron looks back on the history of HOT, which he co-founded. A long FAQ, released by HOT, is worth a read as it includes some details about funding, HOT’s plans, and the impact on OSM.

Maps

  • Well-known Taiwanese mapper Jidanni mentioned that an environmental NGO has made a map of illegal factories on farmland (automatic translation). They ask citizens who know of such factories to report these, as there is a serious problem of factories outside industrial areas in Taiwan, which violate zoning laws and regulations.

Open Data

  • The UK Government’s Geospatial Commission launched its much-awaited national Geospatial Strategy on 16 June. Well-known commentators on geospatial open data were underwhelmed. Initial thoughts have come from: Jeni Tennison (head of ODI), Owen Boswarva, and Leigh Dodds. Richard Fairhurst wonders if the commission has ever heard of OpenStreetMap. At least Ordnance Survey OpenData continues.

Releases

  • The API for the OpenStreetMap history analysis platform, which has been developed by Heidelberg University’s GIScience Research Group, has reached version 1.0.
  • QGIS 3.14 and 3.10.7 LTR (long-term release) are now available for download.

Did you know …

  • … that you could feast on crowdsourced sarcasm and focused nerd wrath by following @Anonymaps?
  • [1] … the Mozilla (or Chrome) browser extension to help the OpenStreetMap community easily access different maps and tools to analyse OSM data?
  • Blender-OSM, an add-on that adds OSM and terrain data to the Blender?

OSM in the media

  • John Stanworth wrote an introduction to OpenStreetMap for Now Then, a local arts and culture magazine in Sheffield (the magazine is being published through an app during the COVID-19 epidemic).
  • OpenStreetMap India’s contributions have been well covered in this article.

Other “geo” things

  • Tom MacWright, a familiar name to many in OSM, writes about ‘Ethics in Geo’ in his blog. As ever, there’s a discussion at hacker news, including the suggestion, from another prominent OSMer, that WTFPL licensing has the effect of dissuading ‘bad guys’ from using software licensed that way.
  • Garmin has released details of its new Edge-series devices ‘Edge 1030 Plus’ and ‘Edge 130 Plus’. The new devices have received some feature updates but do no offer any groundbreaking new functions.
  • meinGrün, a webapp for finding green spaces, launched (de) (automatic translation) with two pilot areas, Dresden and Heidelberg, on 19 June.
  • The BBC reported about efforts to map the seabed. The article assumes that crowdsourcing will also play a role in mapping the seafloor, which is still 81 percent unknown territory.
  • High-definition (HD) map data is important for those interested in developing self-driving cars. Supported by the government of Taiwan, the National Cheng Kung University has founded (automatic translation) the High Definition Maps Research Center (HDMRC). The centre will help government and industry work on developing standards, processing map data, and verification of HD mapping in Taiwan.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Guarda EuYoutH OSM Meeting (cancelled) 2020-06-24-2020-06-28 spain
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Stammtisch 2020-06-26 germany
Rennes Atelier découverte 2020-06-28 france
Prague Pražský mapathon 2020-06-30 czech republic
Montrouge Réunion des contributeurs locaux 2020-07-01 france
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-07-01 germany
Cape Town HOT Summit (To Be Rescheduled) 2020-07-01-2020-07-02 south africa
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #18 2020-07-06 taiwan
London Missing Maps London 2020-07-07 uk
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle pour tous 2020-07-07 france
Berlin 145. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-07-09 germany
Nantes Rencontre mensuelle 2020-07-09 france
San José South Bay Virtual Hack Night & Map Night 2020-07-09 united states
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-07-14 germany
Kandy 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by AnisKoutsi, Nakaner, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, Guillaume Rischard (Stereo), SunCobalt, Supaplex, TheSwavu, YoViajo, derFred, geologist, jinalfoflia, mOlind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *