週刊OSM 523

07/21/2020-07/27/2020

lead picture

守護公民葡萄牙 (Civil Protection Portugal) 採用 OSM – 而且有做到署名 😉 1 | © Civil Protection Portugal | 地圖資料 © 開放街圖貢獻者

大事件

  • 多蘿西婭提醒 (自動翻譯) 我們在 8 月 8 日這一天慶祝開放街圖 16 週年,她還提供了一些慶祝的點子!

關於我們

畫地圖

  • 馬修沃.爾克為四格球運動 (自動翻譯) 運動提出 (自動翻譯) 了一個新標籤sport=four_square
  • 麥可.蒙塔尼 (Michael Montani) 提出的標籤natural=bare_soil提案 (自動翻譯),目前已開放投票至 2020 年 8 月 7 日截止。
  • 在英國地理空間委員會宣布地址和街道的唯一標識碼將作為開放資料提供之後(我們早些時候報導過),已經針對 ref:GB:UPRN (自動翻譯) (自動翻譯) (唯一的財產參考編號)和 ref:GB:usrn (唯一的街道參考編號),提出提案。在 Talk-GB (自動翻譯) 和 Tagging (自動翻譯) 郵件論壇中進行了討論。
  • JesseFW 解釋 (自動翻譯) 了為什麼 Carto 上的海岸線自 2020 年 1月 以來一直沒有更新。看來海岸線的更新問題是拉普拉塔河編輯戰的另一個受害者(我們之前報導過)。
  • 使用者 mahdi1234 發表 (自動翻譯)了一份指南,供初學者將 OSM 隨時間的改變視覺化,並詳細介紹了如何使用 OSM 資料建立時間推移的效果。

社群

  • 克里斯多夫·霍曼反對 (自動翻譯) 將開放街圖的工藝繪製地圖支持者說成是反對改革的保守派。他認為,這是 OSMF 政治圈正在傳播的一種新的說法一部分,即需要改變開放街圖,以及保守派的工藝繪製地圖反對改革。
  • 在 Geomob 的 Podcast 當中,史蒂芬·費爾德曼與最近在 FOSS4GUK 的主題演講者瑪麗亞·阿里亞斯·德·雷納進行了交談 (自動翻譯),她的身份有紅帽公司的資深軟體工程師,也同時是開源地理空間基金會的前主席。本集涉及瑪麗亞目前的工作,以及她最近在 FOSS4GUK 的演講,但也談論冒名頂替綜合症和科幻小說。
  • Øukasz 講述了 (自動翻譯) 他們最近與 CartONG 的兩次互動經驗,一次是為難民營開發標籤標準,另一次是導入聯合國難民署的難民營資料集。來自 CartONG 的列昂妮·米格在部落格評論中作了回應 (自動翻譯)。
  • 理查‧費爾赫斯特 (Richard Fairhurst) 發布 (自動翻譯) 了一份新指南,供資料擁有者為 OSM 提供貢獻。此份指南為英國兩個地方議會所合作的成果,此兩議會最近獲得了開放資料機構 (Open Data Institute) 的補助,以研究如何使用和提供貢獻給例如像 OSM 的群眾外包開放地圖。
  • OpenStreetMap US 發佈 (自動翻譯)了 2020 年 7 月的電子報。
  • 聖保羅博物馆的建模影片 – 使用 JOSM 編輯器對巴西聖保羅的聖保羅博物館進行 3D 建模。該影片展示了建模過程。影片開頭及結尾的 3D 預覽是來自 F4Map 網站,而在建模時使用了 JOSM 編輯器的 Kendzi3D 工具。

匯入

  • 亞歷克斯·亨寧斯已經審查了 (自動翻譯) Facebook 和 ESRI 提議的”非匯入”匯入(我們早些時候報導過)ArcGIS 資料集透過 RapiD 或 JOSM MapWithAI 套件,並發現他們的不足之處。特別值得關注的是,在 imports-us (自動翻譯) 郵件論壇上社群的回饋意見並不多。

開放街圖基金會

  • OSMF 理事會希望就其招募資深網站可靠度工程師的計劃徵求社群的意見 (自動翻譯)。這是根據 OSMF-talk 幾天前討論(自動翻譯) 的招募框架所設立的第一個職位。

活動

  • State of the Map 2020 學術軌論文集已經出版了。

人道救援畫地圖

  • HOT 正在對使用過 RapiD 的使用者進行線上調查,了解他們的使用者體驗。這些資料將被用來了解如何使 RapiD 更容易被各式各樣不同類型使用者採用。

地圖

  • 努諾-卡爾德拉透過推特 祝賀葡萄牙國家應急和民防局,說到他們在上週提及葡萄牙發生的一場大型森林火災的這則推特中 (pt),有使用開放街圖資料並且正確屬名。
  • 台灣特殊的政治、經濟環境,造就很多特殊的地方,屬於離島中的離島的金門大膽島就是其中一個地方。有位義大利人 M G 在 OpenStreetMap Taiwan Telegram 頻道上,分享他製造的金門資訊網站金門崛起計劃(Kinmen Rising Project),其中有用 OSM 當底圖秀出他在島上遊歷的照片,當然他畫了不少的大膽島的設施。

軟體

  • 有一篇論文藉由分析 (自動翻譯) 越來越多免費開放的時空資訊(如空照圖)來支援和引導製圖人員的工作:用類神經網路辨識開放街圖可能需要更新的區域。
  • 文卡納·巴布·古圖拉發布了 Label-Pixels,這是一個使用完全卷積網路(FCN)對遙感圖像進行語義分割的工具,旨在從遙感圖像中提取道路網路。

釋出

  • 莎拉·霍夫曼(Sarah Hoffmann)宣佈 (自動翻譯) 發佈 osm2pgsql 1.3.0 版本,以及新的彈性輸出 (仍在實驗性的)。這次釋出主要的貢獻者喬臣·托普夫(Jochen Topf),解釋 (自動翻譯) 如何從 OSM 輸出資料時,PostgreSQL 能夠更有彈性。
  • iD 編輯器更新之後支援觸控操作 (自動翻譯),所以能夠用平板 (還沒有辦法用在所有尺寸的智慧型手機。)其他的重功還有整合圖資品質檢查,以及多重選擇下的編輯。
  • 當釋出新版本的 iD,縮小時「定位器覆蓋層」帶來 (自動翻譯) 半透明的效果。藉由 OpenStreetMap 編輯器圖層索引,新的覆蓋層已經能在 OpenStreetMap.org 找到,不久在 HOT 任務分配管理器以及其他版本的 iD 也會佈署。先前要在 iD 叫出覆蓋層有點困難。

你知道嗎?

  • …Finde.cash 地圖展示了銀行、ATM 及各自的 ATM 網路位置,並提供步行、騎單車或搭乘大眾交通工具的路線規劃,可選擇開放單車地圖等四種底圖,以及直接新增被遺漏的 ATM。(地圖提供全球檢視,但僅有德文介面)。
  • MyOSMatic 為一個免費的網路服務,用 OSM 資料產生城市地圖並可輸出成 PNG、PDF 及 SVG 檔案以便列印,介面設有 25 種語言可供選擇。
  • …「OSM 品質排行」(Beta 版)透過檢查道路幾何、道路標籤和關聯,依據 OSM 資料品質評估 與排名美國 51 個城市。

其他地理事情

  • 布魯克林歷史學會的地圖收藏年代涵蓋自 17 世紀至今,總計 1,500 幅的數位化歷史地圖。
  • 納塔奈爾·彼得利尼研究了 ((de) 自動翻譯) 製圖師在試圖取悅所有用戶的政治觀點時面臨的困境。他們研究了科索沃和巴勒斯坦的案例,以及蘋果、谷歌和 OSM 是如何應對這些國家提出的要求。
  • 由於 Garmin 受到了勒索軟體攻擊,他們提供的許多線上服務因而被迫終止或仍停止運作
  • Google 地圖更新之後已經允許在芝加哥、蒙特婁和倫敦等城市的公共自行車騎士,能看到他們步行和騎行的旅程方向詳細到端到端程度,並整合了自行車和車位的數量資料。《今日城市》(Cities Today ) 介紹 (自動翻譯) 了新服務的一些背景。
  • _Tagesspiegel_採訪了2.1萬人,了解他們在街上害怕什麼,以及未來柏林的自行車道應該長什麼樣子,結果則用一系列的圖形解釋(de) (自動翻譯)。

未來活動

地點 活動名稱 日期 所在國
倫敦 London Missing Maps Mapathon (ONLINE) 2020-08-04 uk
曼海姆 Mannheimer Mapathons – Treffen im Luisenpark 2020-08-04 deutschland
斯圖加特 Stuttgarter Stammtisch 2020-08-05 germany
聖荷西 Civic Hack & Map Night (online) 2020-08-06 united states
台北 OSM x Wikidata #19 2020-08-10 taiwan
漢堡 Hamburger Mappertreffen 2020-08-11 germany
慕尼黑 Münchner Stammtisch 2020-08-12 germany
柏林 146. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch 2020-08-14 germany
蘇黎世 120. Mapping-Party/OSM Meetup Zurich 2020-08-15 switzerland
科隆/波恩機場 130. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-08-18 germany
吕納堡 Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2020-08-18 germany
科隆 Köln Stammtisch ggf. ONLINE 2020-08-19 germany
康提 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

註: 你也可以在這裡展示你發起的活動!只須在行事曆上塡妥活動資訊即可。 只有記載於行事曆上的活動資訊才會在《週刊OSM》列出。你也可以在行事曆預覽檢查你提交的活動, 並作出適當更正

這期 weeklyOSM 由 Anne Ghisla, MatthiasMatthias, Nakaner, Nordpfeil, Rogehm, Supaplex, TheSwavu, derFred, s8321414 編譯 ##team##

2 thoughts on “週刊OSM 523

  1. Manfred Reiter表示:

    Hi Dan, sounds a great idea. Please join the team. I’ll help you to realise the idea.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 523

21/07/2020-27/07/2020

lead picture

Civil Protection Portugal uses OSM – with attribution 😉 1 | © Civil Protection Portugal | Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Breaking news

  • Dorothea reminds us to celebrate the 16th anniversary of OSM on 8 August. She provides some ideas on how that can be done!

About us

  • Happy Birthday OSM-Wochennotiz! It was ten years ago this week that the first issue (de) (automatic translation) of the Wochennotiz was published.

Mapping

  • Matthew Woehlke has proposed the new tag sport=four_square for a sport called Four square.
  • Michael Montani’s proposal to introduce a natural=bare_soil tag for ‘an area covered by soil, without any vegetation’ is currently open for voting until 7 August.
  • Following the British Geospatial Commission’s announcement that unique identifiers for addresses and streets would become available as open data (we reported earlier), proposals have been produced for ref:GB:uprn (unique property reference number) and ref:GB:usrn (unique street reference number). Discussion has taken place on the Talk-GB and Tagging mailing lists.
  • JesseFW provided us with an explanation as to why the coastlines on Carto hadn’t been updated since January 2020. It seems that the coastline update was another victim of the Río de la Plata edit war (which we reported on earlier).
  • User mahdi1234 published a guide for beginners on visualising changes in OSM over time. He shows in detail how to create a time lapse with OSM data.

Community

  • Christoph Hormann objects to the framing of craft mappers in OpenStreetMap as conservatives opposed to change. He feels that this is part of a new narrative being communicated in OSMF politics; that is, the need for change in OpenStreetMap, and craft mappers’ opposition to change.
  • On the Geomob podcast Steven Feldman chats with recent FOSS4GUK keynote speaker María Arias de Reyna, a senior software engineer at Red Hat and former President of the Open Source Geospatial Foundation. The episode deals with María’s current work, and her recent talk at FOSS4GUK, but also imposter syndrome, and science fiction.
  • Øukasz recounts their experience of two recent interactions with CartONG, one with developing a tagging schema for refugee camps and the other with importing a UNHCR refugee camp dataset. Léonie Miège, from CartONG, responded in a blog comment.
  • Richard Fairhurst has written a new guide for data owners wishing to contribute to OSM. It is an output of cooperation with two local councils in the UK, which were recently funded by the Open Data Institute to investigate using and contributing to crowdsourced open map data such as OSM.
  • OpenStreetMap US has published its July 2020 newsletter.
  • Igor Eliezer has made a video showing how the 3D modelling of the Museu Paulista (São Paulo, Brazil) was re-worked in OpenStreetMap using the JOSM editor. The 3D preview at the beginning and end of the video is from the F4Map website and, during modelling, in Kendzi3D within the JOSM editor.

Imports

  • Alex Hennings has reviewed Facebook and ESRI’s proposed ‘not-an-import’ imports (we reported earlier) of ArcGIS datasets through RapiD or JOSM MapWithAI plugin and found them wanting. Of particular concern was the lack of solicited community review on the imports-us mail list.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • The OSMF board would like to consult the community on its hiring plans for a Senior Site Reliability Engineer. This is the first position based on the hiring framework which osmf-talk discussed a few days ago.

Events

  • Proceedings of the Academic Track at the State of the Map 2020 have been published.

Humanitarian OSM

  • HOT is conducting an online survey of people who have used RapiD to find out what their experience was. The data will be used to understand how RapiD could be made more accessible and usable for a variety of users.

Maps

  • Nuno Caldeira congratulated, through Twitter, the Portuguese National Emergency and Civil Protection Authority for using OpenStreetMap data, and correct attribution, in a tweet (pt) about a large forest fire that occurred last week in Portugal.
  • Taiwan, a nation in the Far East with special political status, has lots of outlying islands. Dadan Island in Kinmen is one of the most remote. MG, the Italian mapper, shares the Kinmen information website he created, The Kinmen Rising Project on the OSM Taiwan Telegram channel, showing photos from his journey with OSM as the base map, and of course he mapped a lot of POIs on the island.

Software

  • A research paper analyses the growing amount of freely available spatio-temporal information (such as aerial imagery) to support and guide mappers in their work. Artificial neural networks identify regions of interest where OSM is likely to require updating.
  • Venkanna Babu Guthula has released Label-Pixels, a tool for semantic segmentation of remote sensing images using fully convolutional networks (FCNs), designed for extracting road networks from remote sensing imagery.

Releases

  • Sarah Hoffmann announced release 1.3.0 of osm2pgsql with the addition of the (still experimental) new flex output. Jochen Topf, the main contributor for this release, explained how this gives more flexibility when exporting data from OSM to PostgreSQL.
  • The iD editor was updated and now has touch support, so it can be used on tablets (smartphone sized screens aren’t fully supported yet). Other highlights are integrated quality checks and multi-selection editing.
  • With the release of the latest version of iD, the ‘locator overlay’, a semi-transparent overlay when zoomed out, has been rebuilt. Via the OpenStreetMap editor-layer-index, the new overlay is now available on OpenStreetMap.org, and soon on the HOT Tasking Manager and other instances of iD.

Did you know …

  • … Finde.cash displays banks and ATMs with the respective ATM networks on a map? It also offers route planning by foot, bicycle or public transport, and four background options including OpenCycleMap. Missing ATMs can be inserted directly. The map is worldwide but the menu is only available in German.
  • MyOSMatic, the free of charge web service to generate city maps using OSM Data, which are available in PNG, PDF and SVG ready to print? Menus are available in 25 languages.
  • … the ‘OSM Quality Ranking’ (Beta) assesses and ranks 51 US cities by OSM data quality, checking geometry and tagging for streets, roads, and relations?

Other “geo” things

  • Brooklyn Historical Society’s map collection includes over 1,500 digitised historical maps spanning the seventeenth century to the present.
  • Nathanael Peterlini examined (de) (automatic translation) difficulties cartographers face when trying to please all of their users’ political views. They look at the cases of Kosovo and Palestine and how they are treated by Apple, Google, and OSM.
  • Garmin has been the victim of a ransomware attack. As a result, many of their online services were interrupted or are still down.
  • An update to Google Maps has allowed docked bike share riders in cities such as Chicago, Montreal and London to see end-to-end walking and cycling directions for their journey integrated with bike and dock availability. Cities Today gave some background to the new service.
  • Tagesspiegel interviewed 21,000 people about what scares them on the street and what Berlin’s bike paths should look like in the future. The results are explained (de) (automatic translation) with a series of graphics.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
London London Missing Maps Mapathon (ONLINE) 2020-08-04 uk
Mannheimn Mannheimer Mapathons – Treffen im Luisenpark 2020-08-04 deutschland
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch 2020-08-05 germany
San José Civic Hack & Map Night (online) 2020-08-06 united states
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #19 2020-08-10 taiwan
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen 2020-08-11 germany
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-08-12 germany
Berlin 146. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch 2020-08-14 germany
Zurich 120. Mapping-Party/OSM Meetup Zurich 2020-08-15 switzerland
Cologne Bonn Airport 130. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-08-18 germany
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2020-08-18 germany
Cologne Köln Stammtisch ggf. ONLINE 2020-08-19 germany
Kandy 2020 State of the Map Asia 2020-10-31-2020-11-01 sri lanka

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Anne Ghisla, MatthiasMatthias, Nakaner, Nordpfeil, PierZen, Polyglot, Rogehm, SK53, TheSwavu, derFred, richter_fn.

2 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 523

Comments are closed.