週刊OSM 536

2020/10/20-2020/10/26

lead picture

Wikimap 與所有有地理標籤的維基百科條目 1 | © Louis Jencka, Wikidata, 維基百科 | 地圖資料 © 開放街圖貢獻者

畫地圖

  • 使用者 Darafei 更新了en> zh Disaster.Ninja 工具,該工具是為了協助 HOT 的啟動過程而開發的,但對一般的畫地圖社群也可能用得到。
  • 羅伯特-德爾梅尼科發表了en> zh一項提案建議用新的標籤artificial=*取代現有的標籤man_made=*,以使語言更加不分性別。該提案已公開徵求意見
  • Jeroen Hoek 和 Supaplex 提出en> zh 了一項關於 parking=street_side (路邊停車)的提案,用於標記適合或指定用於停車的區域,這些區域直接與道路的車行道相鄰,並且可以從道路上直接到達而無需使用通道。該提案現公開徵求意見。
  • Brian Sperlongano(使用者名稱為 ZeLonewolf)發布了en> zh一個新標籤 border=special_economic_zone提案,用於繪製經濟特區。該提案現已公開徵求意見。
  • Alter Geosystems 解釋了 (es)>zh-tw 如何用 Wikidata 知識豐富 OpenStreetMap 資料。他們還連結到 Wikidata 查詢服務,為執行查詢的工具。
  • PanierAvide報告 (fr)>zh-tw 關於法國 OSM 社群本月迄今為止最成功的專案,即除顫器的繪圖。

社群

  • Labian Gashi 憑藉其 JOSM 套件 “NeTEx Converter” 獲得了 DINAcon 2020 的「最佳新人獎」。來自 HSR Rapperswil/ Ostschweizer 應用科學大學Stefan Keller以及 SBB 的專家對該專案進行了監督。 NeTEx 轉換器”將OpenStreetMap資料轉換為「網路時間表交換」(NeTEx)格式(CEN標準),該格式是「為有效交換複雜的交通資料而設計的」。該套件還可以檢查站內基本的室內導航。
  • coolmule0 從去年 7 月開始繪製地圖,並在一篇部落格文章中總結了初學者的 OSM 經驗。其中他們討論了 Mapcartawiki 上關於building=terrace文章
  • DeBigC 在部落格中說,他在都柏林發現了一個臭名昭著的墨爾本摩天大樓的小弟,並將其追溯到一個錯別字。

開放街圖基金會

  • 如果你打算競選 OSM 基金會的席位,別忘了截止日期是 2020 年 11 月 7 日星期六。
  • OSMF 理事會成員 Rory McCann 提議修正 OSMF 章程第 91 條。今後,理事會各委員會應有可能包括非理事會成員。
  • 用戶 Nakaneren> zh 正在為即將於2020年12月12日召開的 OSM 基金會年度大會提出一項決議。在11月4日之前,大約需要 80 名支持者。
  • 一些 OpenStreetMap 基金會的理事會成員將在 Reddit 上舉辦「問我一切」(AMA) 活動。所有問題都可以提出。 AMA 將於11月9日中歐時間16:00開始。從11月2日開始就可以在 AMA 主題中提出問題。
  • 在擔憂和失望之間,Severin Menard 概述了en> zh他對 OSMF 自上次選舉以來發展的看法。他提到了 Christoph Hormann (Imagico) 的部落格文章,我們早些時候已經報導過
  • OSMF-Talk 郵件列表討論了 OSMF 理事會提出的兩項建議,以加強 OSMF 防止大公司/壞公司惡意收購的能力。 Facebook 和 Mapbox 的知名員工反對這些提議。
    • Rory McCann 提議,在 OSMF 的章程中加入一條規定,即如果會員不能自由行使自己的權利,或者在行使這些權利時受到合同約束(比如與雇主),那麼會員資格就會過期,投票就會失效。反對者認為,這實際上是不可能證明的。支持者認為,該條款的不可使用性沒有任何危害,必須假定公司是邪惡的。
    • Tobias Knerr 提出了一項關於新成員最低要求的成員決議。今後,如果感興趣的一方沒有對 OSM 做出重大貢獻,理事會應該拒絕會員申請。這裡也有來自美國商業環境的逆風。

活動

  • 下一次 Geomob 將於 2020 年 11 月 17 日在線上進行。需要註冊邀請(Zoom 網址)。
  • 實體和數位混合的失蹤地圖地圖馬拉松活動計劃 (de)>zh於11月30日在舉行。如果流行病學情況允許,實體部分將在瓦本(瑞士伯恩)swisstopo 舉行。
  • 星期一和星期二(11 月 2 日和 3 日),兩年一度的 GeOnG 會議en> zh第七次舉行,與會者將圍繞人道主義和發展部門的技術和資訊管理主題參加 30 多場現場會議。今年的主題是「以人為本的資訊管理:促進負責任和包容性的實踐」。點這裡查看全部議程。

人道救援畫地圖

  • Marcel Reinmuth 就撒哈拉以南非洲老年人實際獲得保健服務的情況以及對 COVID-19 對策的影響進行了en> zh跨部門分析。
  • Jikka Defiño 報告了 en> zh為菲律賓 PhilAWARE 減少災害風險專案和培訓收集實地資料的情況。
  • Mapillary 的部落格中介紹了 Mapping Power 活動,解釋了 YouthMappers 網路中的學生如何透過 MapillaryMap With AITeachOSMHOT 使用增強和志願繪圖者來改善獅子山共和國的電網並連結農村社區。

地圖

  • Diego Alonso 解釋 (es)>zh 如何用 QGIS 下載 Sentinel 影像。
  • flo2154 提供了 (de)>en 他的第一個 MapComplete 主題,它顯示長椅amenity=bench 和其他標記為bench=yes 的元素。
  • derstefan 正在尋找 (de)>zh-tw 新的 OpenTopoMap-Garmin 地圖的測試者。臨時網址為 https://garmin2.opentopomap.org
  • cquest 提交了 (fr)一份地圖,顯示法國受健康宵禁影響的地區。

開放資料

  • 俄羅斯新創公司 Geoalert 發布了 Urban Mapping,這是第一個覆蓋俄羅斯的自動追踪建築足蹟的開放資料集。為了實現這一目標,該公司使用了 Mapbox 衛星圖像,Mapbox 已經明確允許其他人使用機器學習算法自動追踪。儘管 Mapbox 在俄羅斯的圖像品質和時效性相當差,但對於一些地區來說,「城市地圖」資料集大大超過了目前的 OSM 建築數量。目前有三個地區可以通過 GitHub 上的連結取得:車臣、圖瓦和莫斯科。

程式開發

  • 西蒙-萊格納(Simon Legner)報告說en> zh,用於讀寫 OSM PBF 文件的函式庫 Osmpbf 的 Java 版本現在可以從 Maven Central 取得。
  • Erick de Oliveira Leal 解釋了en> zh如何在 OpenStreetMap(JOSM 或 ID)中啟用 Strava 高解析度圖層。 編者註:當你在使用這個 Strava 圖層時請特別注意,目前 OSM 沒有權限在 OSM 中使用這個圖層,你的編輯有可能被刪除。
  • 編輯層索引的維護者 Guillaume Rischard 建議放棄 ELI,讓 iD 使用 JOSM 中的背景層列表(我們之前已經介紹過這方面的討論)。
  • 莎拉-霍夫曼(Sarah Hoffmann,又名 lonvia)報告說en> zh,Photon 的下載伺服器現在有 200 多個國家的即用型資料庫轉儲。

釋出

  • QGIS 3.16.0 “Hannover” 已經發布。它帶來了新的 3D 製圖選項、從其他資料類型生成網格、額外的空間分析工具、符號學和使用者介面改進。

你知道嗎?

  • ……外國地名的英語外來詞列表?
  • [1] …維基地圖,一個顯示所有地理標籤維基百科文章位置的地圖?

其他地理事情

  • Matthias Schwindt,來自 GPS Radler提出 (de)>zh 三款堅固的戶外 Garmin Montana 700 系列的實際測試,並幫助您決定哪一個是正確的。
  • Google 人工智慧最近推出了en> zh基於瀏覽器的開源工具集 ,該工具集的創建是為了實現從 1800 年到 2000 年的城市過渡的虛擬三維影像的探索。
  • 英國廣播公司科學 記者喬納森-阿莫斯報導en> zh了挪威資助世界熱帶森林衛星地圖的情況。
  • Seán Lynch 告訴en> zh我們,他決定將 OpenLitterMap 作為開放源碼(GPLv3)提供。
  • 來自 BBC Future 的 David Hambling 提出en> zh了一個問題:如果沒有 GPS,世界會怎樣?
  • 弗勞恩霍夫工業工程研究所 (FhG-IAO)(de)作為社區創新中心 (KIC@bw) (de)>en,提供以實踐為導向的指南「未來的城市發展導向的社群資料」的全文下載,旨在提供定位知識,並展示應用領域、行動選擇和發展可能性。通過行政數位化或在公共空間使用數位產品所產生的資料,可以為市政當局提供提高生活品質、減少資源使用數量、降低成本、改善市民服務或提高行政流程效率的潛力,從而為市政發展做出重要貢獻。

未來活動

地點 活動名稱 日期 所在國
布拉提斯拉瓦 Meeting Missing Maps CZ & SK [1] 2020-10-31 slovakia
倫敦 Missing Maps London Mapathon 2020-11-03 united kingdom
斯圖加特 Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-11-04 germany
波鴻 Bochum OSM-Stammtisch (Online) [2] 2020-11-05 germany
德勒斯登 Dresdner OSM-Stammtisch 2020-11-05 germany
線上 State of the Map Japan 2020 Online 2020-11-07 japan
台北 OSM x Wikidata #22 2020-11-09 taiwan
鹽湖城/線上 OpenStreetMap Utah Map Night 2020-11-10 united states
慕尼黑 Münchner Stammtisch 2020-11-11 germany
蘇黎世 123. OSM Meetup Zurich 2020-11-11 switzerland
柏林 149. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-11-12 germany
線上 2020 Pista ng Mapa 2020-11-13-2020-11-27 philippines
科隆/波恩機場 133. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-11-17 germany
吕納堡 Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2020-11-17 germany
柏林 OSM-Verkehrswende #17 (Online) 2020-11-17 germany
科隆 Köln Stammtisch ONLINE 2020-11-18 germany
線上 FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2020 2020-11-20 oceania

註: 你也可以在這裡展示你發起的活動!只須在行事曆上塡妥活動資訊即可。 只有記載於行事曆上的活動資訊才會在《週刊OSM》列出。你也可以在行事曆預覽檢查你提交的活動, 並作出適當更正

這期 weeklyOSM 由 Nakaner, Nordpfeil, NunoMASAzevedo, Rogehm, Supaplex, TheSwavu, derFred, s8321414 編譯

One thought on “週刊OSM 536

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 536

20/10/2020-26/10/2020

lead picture

Wikimap with all geotagged Wikipedia articles 1 | © Louis Jencka, Wikidata, Wikipedia | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • User Darafei updated the Disaster.Ninja tool, which was developed to assist HOT in their activation process, but could also be useful for the general mapping community.
  • Robert Delmenico published a proposal to substitute the existing tags man_made=* with the new tag artificial=* in order to make the language more gender-neutral. The proposal is open for comments.
  • Jeroen Hoek and Supaplex have made a proposal for parking=street_side for tagging areas suitable, or designated for, parking, which are directly adjacent to the carriageway of a road and can be reached directly from the roadway without having to use an access way. The proposal is now open for comments.
  • Brian Sperlongano (User ZeLonewolf) has published a proposal for a new tag boundary=special_economic_zone to map Special Economic Zones. The proposal is now open for comments.
  • Alter Geosystems explains (es) > en how OpenStreetMap data can be enriched with Wikidata knowledge. They also link to the Wikidata Query Service, a facility for running queries.
  • PanierAvide reports (fr) > en about the most successful project of the month of the French OSM community so far, the mapping of defibrillators.

Community

  • Labian Gashi has won the DINAcon 2020 Award in the category ‘Best Newcomer’ for his JOSM plugin ‘NeTEx Converter‘. Stefan Keller, from the HSR Rapperswil/Ostschweizer University of Applied Sciences, as well as specialists from SBB, supervised the project. The ‘NeTEx Converter’ converts OpenStreetMap data into the Network Timetable Exchange (NeTEx) format, (a CEN standard), which is ‘designed for the efficient exchange of complex transport data’. The plugin also checks rudimentary indoor routing within stations.
  • coolmule0 has been mapping since July of last year and has summarised a beginner’s experience of OSM in a blog post. Among others things they discuss Mapcarta and the wiki article about building=terrace.
  • DeBigC blogged that he discovered a little brother of the infamous Melbourne skyscraper in Dublin and traced it down to a typo.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • If you are intending to run for an OSM Foundation seat, don’t forget that the deadline is Saturday 7 November 2020.
  • Rory McCann, member of the OSMF Board of Directors, proposes an amendment to Article 91 of the OSMF Constitution. In future, it should be possible for board committees to include members who are not board members.
  • User Nakaner is proposing a resolution for the upcoming Annual General Meeting of the OSM Foundation on 12 December 2020. About 80 supporters are necessary before 4 November.
  • Some OpenStreetMap Foundation board members will host an Ask me Anything (AMA) on Reddit. All questions can be asked. The AMA will start 9 November at 16:00 CET. Questions can be raised from 2 November in the AMA thread.
  • Between concern and disappointment, Severin Menard outlined his opinion of OSMF’s development since the last elections. He refers to Christoph Hormann’s (Imagico) blog post that we covered earlier.
  • The OSMF-Talk mailing list discussed two proposals from the OSMF board of directors to harden OSMF against hostile takeovers by big/bad companies. Well-known employees of Facebook and Mapbox argued against these proposals.
    • Rory McCann proposes that the OSMF bylaws include a provision that memberships expire, and votes become invalid if a member cannot freely exercise his or her rights or is contractually bound (e.g., with the employer) in the exercise of those rights. The opponents believe that this is practically impossible to prove. Proponents believe that the non-usability of the clause does no harm and that one must assume that companies are evil.
    • Tobias Knerr proposes a member resolution on minimum requirements for new members. In the future, the board should reject membership applications if the interested party has not made significant contributions to OSM. Here, too, there is headwind from the American business environment.

Events

  • The next Geomob will take place online on 17 November 2020. Signing up for an invite (Zoom URL) is necessary.
  • A mixed physical-digital Missing Maps Mapathon is planned (de) > en for 30 November. If the epidemiological situation permits, the physical part will take place in Wabern (Bern, Switzerland) at swisstopo.
  • On Monday and Tuesday (2 and 3 November) the biennial conference GeOnG will take place for the seventh time and participants will join in over 30 live sessions around the topics of technology and information management in the humanitarian and development sector. This year’s theme is ‘People at the heart of Information Management: promoting responsible and inclusive practices’. Check the full agenda here.

Humanitarian OSM

  • Marcel Reinmuth provided a cross-sectional analysis about mapping physical access to health care for older adults in sub-Saharan Africa and the implications for the COVID-19 response.
  • Jikka Defiño reports about the collection of field data for the PhilAWARE disaster risk reduction project and training in the Philippines.
  • The Mapping Power campaign was featured in Mapillary’s Blog, explaining how students across the YouthMappers network are using augmented and volunteer mapping through Mapillary, Map With AI, TeachOSM, and HOT to improve Sierra Leone’s electrical grid and connect rural communities.

Maps

  • Diego Alonso explained (es) > en how to download Sentinel images with QGIS.
  • flo2154 provided (de) > en his first MapComplete theme, which displays benches amenity=bench and other elements tagged with bench=yes.
  • derstefan is looking (de) > en for beta testers for the new OpenTopoMap-Garmin maps. The temporary address is https://garmin2.opentopomap.org.
  • cquest presented (fr) a map showing the areas affected by the health curfew in France.

Open Data

  • Russian startup company Geoalert has published Urban Mapping, the first open dataset of automatically traced building footprints covering Russia. To achieve this the company used Mapbox Satellite imagery, which Mapbox has explicitly permitted others to auto-trace using machine learning algorithms. Despite the fact that Mapbox has quite poor coverage in Russia, in terms of images quality and timeliness, for some regions the ‘Urban Mapping’ datasets surpass the current count of OSM buildings significantly.Currently there are three regions available via the links on Github: Chechnya, Tyva and Moscow.

Programming

  • Simon Legner reports that the Java version of Osmpbf, a library for reading and writing OSM PBF files, is now available from Maven Central.
  • Erick de Oliveira Leal explained how to enable the Strava High Resolution Layer in OpenStreetMap (JOSM or ID). Editor’s note: Please note that when you are using this Strava layer there is, at present, no permission to use this layer for OSM and you run the risk of having your edits removed.
  • Guillaume Rischard, maintainer of the Editor Layer Index, suggests abandoning the ELI and for iD to use the background layer list from JOSM (we have covered previous discussions of this).
  • Sarah Hoffmann, aka lonvia, reports that the download server for Photon now has ready-to-use database dumps for over 200 countries.

Releases

  • QGIS 3.16.0 ‘Hannover’ has been released. It brings new options for 3D mapping, mesh generation from other data types, additional spatial analysis tools, symbology and user interface enhancements.

Did you know …

  • … the list of English exonyms for foreign toponyms?
  • [1] … Wikimap, a map showing the location of all geotagged Wikipedia articles?

Other “geo” things

  • Matthias Schwindt, from GPS Radler, presents (de) > en three models of the robust outdoor Garmin Montana 700 series in practical tests and helps you to decide which one is the right one.
  • Google AI recently launched the open-source browser-based toolset , which was created to enable the exploration of city transitions from 1800 to 2000 virtually in a three-dimensional view.
  • Jonathan Amos, a BBC Science correspondent, reported about Norway’s funding of satellite maps of the world’s tropical forests.
  • Seán Lynch informed us of his decision to make OpenLitterMap available as open source (GPLv3).
  • David Hambling, from BBC Future, poses the question of what the world would do without GPS.
  • The Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering (FhG-IAO) offers (de) as a result of the Communal Innovation Center (KIC@bw) (de) > en a full-text download of the practice-oriented guideline ‘Communal Data for Future-Oriented Urban Development’, which is intended to provide orientation knowledge and show fields of application, options for action and development possibilities. The data, generated by administrative digitisation or the use of digital offerings in public spaces, can provide municipalities with potential for improving the quality of life, reducing the number of resources used, cutting costs, improving citizen services, or making administrative processes more efficient, and thus making a significant contribution to municipal development.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Bratislava Meeting Missing Maps CZ & SK [1] 2020-10-31 slovakia
London Missing Maps London Mapathon 2020-11-03 united kingdom
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (online) 2020-11-04 germany
Bochum Bochum OSM-Stammtisch (Online) [2] 2020-11-05 germany
Dresden Dresdner OSM-Stammtisch 2020-11-05 germany
Online State of the Map Japan 2020 Online 2020-11-07 japan
Taipei OSM x Wikidata #22 2020-11-09 taiwan
Salt Lake City / Virtual OpenStreetMap Utah Map Night 2020-11-10 united states
Munich Münchner Stammtisch 2020-11-11 germany
Zurich 123. OSM Meetup Zurich 2020-11-11 switzerland
Berlin 149. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-11-12 germany
Online 2020 Pista ng Mapa 2020-11-13-2020-11-27 philippines
Cologne Bonn Airport 133. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-11-17 germany
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen 2020-11-17 germany
Berlin OSM-Verkehrswende #17 (Online) 2020-11-17 germany
Cologne Köln Stammtisch ONLINE 2020-11-18 germany
Online FOSS4G SotM Oceania 2020 2020-11-20 oceania

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Lejun, MatthiasMatthias, MichaelFS, Nakaner, Nordpfeil, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Rogehm, TheSwavu, derFred, richter_fn.

One thought on “weeklyOSM 536

Comments are closed.