週刊OSM 542

2020/12/01-2020/12/07

lead picture

提案圖徵/疫苗 1 | © the-asca | 地圖資料 © 開放街圖貢獻者 |

大事件

  • 2020 年年度大會en> zh上選舉 OSMF 理事會成員,爭取今年的三個席位,結果 Tobias Knerr(再次當選連任)、Jean-Marc Liotier 和 Eugene Alvin Villar(使用者 seav)當選。對組織章程進行修改的決議(我們早些時候報導過)和其他三項決議都成功通過。

畫地圖

  • [1] 德國 OSM 論壇正在討論de> zh要如何繪製德國 COVID-19 疫苗接種中心的地圖,其位置目前正在當地的媒體發佈。他們還詢問是否有人想要發佈這些中心的地圖。提案可在12月22日前投票en> zh。還有一個 wiki 頁面de> zh與以 uMAP 為基礎的第一張地圖。可在此處找到更詳細的 overpass turbo 查詢方式。
  • 有關危險標籤的討論仍在標籤列表中繼續進行,尤其要注意en> zh這可能是用於常見的「落石」道路標誌最好的標籤。也可以用於各種不同類型的不穩定地形(滑坡、落石、土石流、凍脹),但 Kevin Kenny 指出en> zh,駕駛可能遇到的實際直接危險幾乎總是已經落下的岩石。
  • 英國脫歐將為英國帶來許多變化,其中有一些影響到測繪。Brian Prangle 在英國的郵遞論壇中詢問en> zh應該如何標記內陸邊境設施en> zh。Jerry Clough (SK53) 試圖從世界各地尋找類似的例子,但得出的結論是,這些例子通常沒有詳細標記。
  • Minh Nguyen 正在尋求協助繪製矽谷的企業。即使您未住在該地區,也可以參與相關的 MapRouletteen> zh 任務。
  • 每年的12月3日都是en> zh國際身心障礙者日,OpenStreetMap 則在這一天說「我們的目標是成為世界上最好的無障礙地圖」。此聲明以一系列有用的資源以及與 OSM 及可近用行相關的提示為後盾en> zh
  • Graeme Fitzpatrick 建議en> zh將海岸防衛隊基地的標籤從現在的 emergency=marine_rescue 改為 landuse=military。提案的詳細資訊在 wiki 上en> zh

社群

  • Alexandre Duclaux 分享了fr> zh更新版的 OpenStreetMap 專案概述,這是他在11月為 Suez Smart Solutions 進行的,供希望重用全部或部份內容的法語使用者使用。

匯入

  • 資料工作小組的 Frederik Ramm(使用者 woodpeck)通知了en> zh瑞典社群有關 Lantmäteriet 資料集未經討論而被匯入的訊息。匯入是透過使用(大概是被駭客入侵的)OpenStreetMap 使用者帳號以祕密方式進行的,許多使用者未曾居住在瑞典或是從未繪製過瑞典的地圖。

開放街圖基金會

  • 在 OSMF 理事會選舉之前,在 Talk 和 OSMF-Talk 郵件論壇上又出現了一些激烈和過熱的討論。
    • Michal Migurski(Facebook) 對虛擬諮詢時間的邀請引起了關於他和 Facebook 之間關係的問題。Michal 重申,Facebook 在屬名方面遵守「最佳做法」。Richard Fairhurst 指出這一說法並不屬實,Martin Koppenhoefer 高度評價了利益衝突,而 Jochen Topf 則指出了這一問題的重新定義。Christoph Hormann 批評 Michal 對問題的回答避重就輕,並要求其他公司對 Facebook 對待屬名要求的態度表態。
    • Mateusz Konieczny 和 Alexandre Oliviera 對 Michal 的言論進行了逐一分析 (1, 2)。
    • Andy Mabett 指出,Michal 的言論存在巨大的矛盾。一方面,Michal 聲稱自己是以個人身份發言,另一方面,他參加選舉是為了代表大公司的利益。
    • ndrw6 寫道,像 Facebook 這樣的公司的員工,逃避而不是主動地履行屬名要求,不應該成為 OSMF 理事會的成員。
  • 在討論 Facebook 奇怪的 ODbL 詮釋時(見上文),Frederik Ramm Michal Migurski 對授權的處理與唐納‧川普(Donald Trump)在 2005 年採訪中使用的關於性騷擾的臭名昭彰的短語進行了比較,從而引發了特別激烈的討論。
    • 克利福德-斯諾批評了他的語氣,而史蒂夫亞則提醒觀眾,不恰當的話題不應該被掩蓋。馬特烏斯-科尼茨尼指出,同樣的話可以不提川普或生殖器。Martin Koppenhoefer 回答說,清晰明確的語言適合於重大冤案。
    • 羅里-麥肯,弗雷德里克的電子郵件可以被視為降低了一種罪行的嚴重性,而這種罪行已經被許多文化和社群過於輕視。
    • 針對這一爭議,弗雷德里克寫了第二封郵件,試圖提供更多背景資料,說明他為什麼使用川普的名言,並對 Facebook 和川普進行了更詳細的比較。
  • OSMF 理事長 Allan Mustard 在12月12日(星期六)舉行的年度會員大會之前提供了他的年度報告,這是一個值得歡迎的創新之舉。
  • Joost Schouppe 分析了哪些國家在 OpenStreetMap 基金會的成員中代表人數過多和不足。他呼籲讓來自代表性不足的國家的製圖者了解「積極貢獻者」成員方案。

Local chapter news

  • FOSSGIS 宣佈了de> zh2021年的一系列活動。主要會議訂於六月於瑞士的拉珀斯維爾舉辦,但期間還將舉辦一些線上活動,其中包含了2021年1月28日的 FOSSGIS-Updatede> zh
  • 剛果民主共和國的 OSM 當地社群 (OSM RDC) 作為 OSMF 在非洲的第一個區域分會而受到歡迎

人道救援畫地圖

  • Map Kibera 報告了en> zh他們的工作,透過提供追蹤地圖並在使用各種會議與資料收集的遠端支援下,支援肯亞的 Kibera 非正式定居點的 COVID-19 社群計畫。
  • HOT 已在 Facebook 支援的 Community Impact Microgrants 計畫中發起第二輪的資金援助en> zh。在這一輪中,將提供六筆 5000 美元的資金,其中三筆在東非地區,而另外三筆在亞洲地區,為用於專注於應對當地挑戰的製圖專案的計畫。申請將於2021年1月31日星期日截止。
  • HOT 將於 ESRI 的支援下,於2020年的 Humanitarian OpenStreetMap 峰會上提供微型資金援助的機會:Humanitarian OpenStreetMap 峰會援助 2020en> zh。參與該峰會至少一場會議的 OSM 社群將可能獲得至少 5000 美元的資金援助。除了在資金援助期間提供支援、指導與培訓以外,還可讓其中一名團隊成員參加2021年的 Humanitarian OpenStreetMap 峰會(日期與地點待定)並在峰會上介紹他們的專案。
  • Kontur 撰寫了en> zh關於 HOT 如何將他們的 Disaster Ninja 工具用於響應計畫的文章。Russell Deffner(響應協調者)告訴我們他如何將此工具用於人道主義製圖專案,以及人口資料如何協助災難響應地圖繪製。
  • HOT 的執行董事 Tyler Radford 在2020年 Humanitarian OpenStreetMap 峰會上分享了en> zh他對 HOT 與更廣泛的人道主義繪圖社群之間關係的未來的看法,重點是不再強調 HOT 作為一個組織,而更強調擴大社群範圍、擴大社群的聲音。

教育

  • OSM 製圖者 empers 建立了一個匿名調查來研究菜鳥與老鳥製圖者間的差異。您可以在此處參與調查。

軟體

  • Hauke Stieler 建立了簡單的 Android 應用程式 GeoNotesen> zh,可輕鬆、快速地在地圖上建立與管理地理參考註記,同時蒐集外部資料。
  • OpenTripPlanner (OTP) 是存在已久的用於多模式路線規劃的開放原始碼軟體包,在 2.0 版的發佈en> zh中達到了重要的里程碑。OTP 最初是為了滿足 TriMet(奧瑞岡州大波特蘭地區的公共運輸部門)的需求而共同開發的。其利用了一系列的開放資料:特別是 OSM 與 GTFS(General Transit Feed Specification,通用運輸 Feed 規範)。OTP 在世界的許多地方已被廣泛地使用了十幾年。Entur 是挪威一家國有公司,致力於為公共運輸部門提供數位基礎建設,已開發新版本超過兩年。使用了更模組化的設計來重構整個程式碼庫來提昇可維護性。同時改善了功能與效能,特別是路由演算法已被替換,現在可以處理其他運輸 feed (SIRI, NaTEX) 了。

程式開發

  • Jochen Topf 為 osm2pgsqlen> zh(用來將 OSM 資料匯入到 PostgreSQL/PostGIS 資料庫中)的最新工作提供了en> zh一點背景知識,特別是由 OSMF 所付款的工作。
  • Hauke Stieler 製作的 SimpleTaskManager 現在也提供德文、日文(感謝 miurahr)以及部份中文版本。在最新的更新en> zh中,它還收到了一個用於建立專案的新使用者介面。

你知道嗎?

  • ……關於 OSM 純度自檢en> zh嗎?回答問題,加總您的分數,然後除以問題數量以得到平均分數。將您的分數新增到下方的列表中。其以平均分數遞減排列。如果平均分數高於 2,您可能需要對 OSM 成癮進行治療。
  • ……告訴我該怎麼走嗎

其他地理事情

  • Google Design 在部落格上介紹了en> zh他們在 Google 地圖上實作色彩簡化的方法。
  • 第 18 屆危機應對與管理訊息系統虛擬國際會議 (ISCRAM 2021) 遞交en> zh CoRe 論文的截止日期已延長至12月21日。
  • 如同 Mapillary,Google 現在允許en> zh使用者將用行動應用程式拍攝的街景照片新增到覆蓋率較低的區域。雖然使用者過去就能遞交街景照片,但需要特殊的 360 度攝影機。這個新功能只要使用 Android 手機的相機就可以了。
  • Komoot 是使用 OSM 的德國戶外門戶網站與應用程式,其股份所有權發生了變化de> zh。據報導,布蘭登堡邦創新基金 (BFB Frühphasenfonds Brandenburg) 最初以 100 萬歐元的投資(佔總股份的 15%)支援該公司。這項投資現已變賣兌現,Karstadt Kaufhof 的 René Banko 與柏林的 June Fund 對此都表示了興趣。後者相當成功。
  • 太平洋西北國家實驗室使用機器學習從路網與實際交通密度與行駛時間的資料估算大都市(洛杉磯)整個路網的交通密度en> zh。聽起來與 OSM 有關且非常有用,但您需要一台超級電腦。

未來活動

地點 活動名稱 日期 所在國
柏林 150. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-12-11 germany
柏林 OSM-Verkehrswende #18 (Online) 2020-12-15 germany
科隆/波恩機場 134. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-12-15 germany
諾丁罕 Nottingham pub meetup 2020-12-15 united kingdom
里昂 Rencontre mensuelle (virtuelle) 2020-12-15 france

註: 你也可以在這裡展示你發起的活動!只須在行事曆上塡妥活動資訊即可。 只有記載於行事曆上的活動資訊才會在《週刊OSM》列出。你也可以在行事曆預覽檢查你提交的活動, 並作出適當更正

這期 weeklyOSM 由 Nordpfeil, NunoMASAzevedo, rogehm, Supaplex, TheSwavu, derFred, s8321414 編譯 ##team##

9 thoughts on “週刊OSM 542

  1. Small correction: In context of the Facebook attribution discussion on talk i did not ask “other companies to take a stand”, i suggested *employees of companies* in the OSM context to take a stand independent of the position and the interests of their employer.

  2. Clifford Snow表示:

    How could weeklyOSM not report on the biggest stories of the week, if not in years, the circulation of “A Call to Take Action and Confront Systemic Offensive Behaviour in the OSM Community.” The document has been signed by 36 organizations and over than 250 individuals. The document was circulated well before the election results which you published.

    By not including the a report on the call to action weeklyOSM is making a statement, that the opinions of people who want a respectful community are not worth writing about.

    I urge the editors of weeklyOSM to create there own ethical standards. I believe it’s the duty of the weeklyOSM editors is to seek truth and providing a fair and comprehensive account of events and issues.

    1. Alexey表示:

      Could you please include politeness into your ethical standards and submit news that you want to have in WeeklyOSM like we do?

  3. R0bst3r表示:

    Never heard of “A Call to Take Action and Confront Systemic Offensive Behaviour in the OSM Community.“ This news writers do this job in their free time and don’t make political statements, they maybe also didn’t hear about it.
    Maybe you should contribute by yourself to the osm news. It’s easy possible.

  4. Rogehm表示:

    Unfortunately, we were not able to report on it by the deadline of Weekly #542 on December 7. Of course we follow every important news in the OSM world. We ask for your indulgence if a matter falls victim to the editorial deadline and thus does not appear until a week later.

    The Weekly Editorial Team

  5. Jean-Marc Liotier表示:

    It might just be the result of the WeeklyOSM editorial process: so as to provide sufficient time for translations, the submissions for the Sunday edition are automatically closed each Monday at 24:00 UTC, which means that a discussion occurring later during the week cannot be a story the following weekend.

  6. eteb3表示:

    The statement Clifford mentions and the discussion of it and Heather Leson’s oil-on-stormy-water comments on the list and at the AGM surely merit a full write-up?

    They haven’t got even a passing mention: not a single woman is mentioned here.

    I was wondering how big this issue is, but here’s some pretty clear evidence that it’s a problem.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 542

01/12/2020-07/12/2020

lead picture

Proposed features/vaccination 1 | © the-asca | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors |

Breaking news

  • The election of OSMF board members at the Annual General Meeting 2020 for the three seats in play this year led to the election of Tobias Knerr (re-elected for another term), Jean-Marc Liotier, and Eugene Alvin Villar (user seav). The resolution to make changes to the Articles of Association (which we reported earlier) and three others all succeeded.

Mapping

  • [1] The German OSM Forum is discussing (de) > en how to map German COVID-19 vaccination centres, whose locations are currently being published in the local media. They are also asking if anyone wants to publish a map of these centres. A proposal can be voted on until 22 December. There is also a wiki page and a first map based on uMap. A much more detailed overpass turbo query can be found here.
  • Discussions about hazard tags continue on the tagging list, with particular attention to the best tag to use for the common ‘falling rocks’ road sign. Various different types of unstable landforms (landslides, rock falls, mudslides, frost heave) were noted, but Kevin Kenny pointed out that nearly always the actual immediate hazard which drivers may encounter is that of already fallen rocks.
  • Brexit will bring many changes to the United Kingdom, some of which impinge on mapping. Brian Prangle asked, on the UK mailing list, about how to tag Inland Border Facilities. Jerry Clough (SK53) tried to find vaguely equivalent examples from around the world, but concludes that they are often not tagged in detail.
  • Minh Nguyen is asking for help adding businesses in Silicon Valley. You can participate in the associated MapRoulette tasks, even if you do not live in the area.
  • The International Day of Persons with Disabilities is observed every year on 3 December, and OpenStreetMap marks this day by saying ‘Our aim is to be the best world map for accessibility’. The statement is backed with a list of helpful resources and hints related to OSM and accessibility.
  • Graeme Fitzpatrick is suggesting changing existing tags for coastguard bases to landuse=military with emergency=marine_rescue. Details of the proposal are on the wiki.

Community

  • Alexandre Duclaux shared (fr) an updated overview of the OpenStreetMap project, which he conducted for Suez Smart Solutions in November, for French-speaking contributors who may wish to reuse all or part of its content.

Imports

  • Frederik Ramm, from the Data Working Group (user woodpeck), notified the Swedish community about an undiscussed import of a Lantmäteriet dataset. The import has been conducted in a covert manner, by using (presumably hacked) OpenStreetMap user accounts, many of whom do not live in or have never before mapped in Sweden.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • In the run-up to the elections for the OSMF Board of Directors, there were again some heated and overheated discussions on the Talk and OSMF-Talk mailing lists:
    • Michal Migurski’s (Facebook) invitation to virtual consultation hours led to a question about the relationship between him and Facebook. Michal repeated that Facebook adhered to ‘best practices’ in terms of attribution. Richard Fairhurst pointed out that this claim is not true, Martin Koppenhoefer highligted the conflict of interest, and Jochen Topf called out the re-framing of the issue. Christoph Hormann criticised Michal for evasive responses to the questions and asked other companies to take a stand with respect to Facebook’s treatment of the attribution requirements.
    • Mateusz Konieczny and Alexandre Oliviera examined Michal’s remarks point by point (1, 2).
    • Andy Mabett pointed out a huge contradiction in Michal’s statements. On the one hand, Michal claims to speak as an individual, while on the other hand he stands for election to represent the interests of large companies.
    • ndrw6 wrote that employees of companies like Facebook, which fulfil the attribution requirements evasively rather than proactively, should not be on the OSMF Board.
  • During discussions about Facebook’s strange ODbL interpretation (see above), Frederik Ramm drew a comparison of Michal Migurski’s handling of the licence with a notorious phrase about sexual assault used by Donald Trump in a 2005 interview, thus triggering a particularly heated discussion:
    • Clifford Snow criticised the tone of voice, while Stevea reminded the audience that inappropriate topics should not be hushed up. Mateusz Konieczny noted that the same thing could have been said without referring to either Trump or genitalia. Martin Koppenhoefer replied that clear and unambiguous language was appropriate for major grievances.
    • Rory McCann said that Frederik’s email could be seen as diminishing the seriousness of a type of crime which is already treated too lightly by many cultures and communities.
    • Responding to the controversy, Frederik wrote a second email trying to provide more context as to why he used the Trump quote and provided a more detailed comparison of Facebook and Trump.
  • In a welcome innovation Allan Mustard, chair of OSMF, made his annual report available in advance of the Annual General Meeting, which was held on Saturday 12 December.
  • Joost Schouppe analysed which countries are over- and under-represented in the membership of the OpenStreetMap Foundation. He calls for mappers from under-represented countries to be made aware of the Active Contributors Membership programme.

Local chapter news

  • FOSSGIS announced (de) > en a number of events for 2021. The main conference is scheduled to be held in Rapperswil, Switzerland in June, but some online events will occur in the interim, including FOSSGIS-Update (de) > en on 28 January 2021.
  • The OSM local community in the Democractic Republic of the Congo (OSM RDC) was welcomed as the first local chapter of the OSMF in Africa.

Humanitarian OSM

  • Map Kibera reported on their work supporting COVID-19 community initiatives in informal settlements of Kibera, Kenya, by providing a tracker map and supporting them remotely in the use of various tools for conferences and data collection.
  • HOT has launched a second round of funding from the Community Impact Microgrants, supported by Facebook. In this round, six grants of $5000 will be available, three in the East Africa region and three in the Asia region, for projects that focus on a community mapping project that responds to a local challenge. Applications will close on Sunday 31 January 2021.
  • HOT, with support from ESRI, is offering a microgrant opportunity at the 2020 Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Summit: the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Summit Grant 2020. One grant of $5000 will be available for an OSM community that attends at least one of the sessions at the summit. In addition to being provided support, mentoring, and training during the grant period, one team member will attend and present their project at the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Summit 2021 (date and location TBD).
  • Kontur wrote about how their Disaster Ninja tool is used in response planning by HOT. Russell Deffner (Response Coordinator) tells us how he uses this tool for humanitarian mapping projects, and how population data helps optimise disaster response mapping.
  • Tyler Radford, Executive Director of HOT, shared a message at the 2020 Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Summit with his thoughts on the future of the relationship between HOT and the wider humanitarian mapping community, focusing on de-emphasising HOT as an organisation, putting greater emphasis on the wider community, and amplifying community voices.

Education

  • OSM mapper empers has created an anonymous survey to study differences between first time mappers and long time mappers. You can take the survey here.

Software

  • Hauke Stieler has created the simple Android app GeoNotes to easily and quickly create and manage georeferenced notes on a map while collecting data outside.
  • OpenTripPlanner (OTP), a long-standing open-source software package for multi-modal routing, reached a significant milestone with the release of version 2.0. OTP was originally developed collaboratively to meet the needs of TriMet, the public transit authority for Greater Portland, Oregon. It makes use of a range of open data: notably OSM and GTFS (General Transit Feed Specification). OTP has been widely used for over 10 years in many parts of the world.Entur, a state-owned Norwegian company dedicated to providing digital infrastructure for the public transport sector, has developed the new version over 2 years. The codebase has been entirely refactored using a more modular design to improve maintainability. Functionality and performance have also been improved, notably the routing algorithm has been replaced, and additional transit feeds (SIRI, NaTEX) are now handled.

Programming

  • Jochen Topf provided some background on recent work on osm2pgsql (used to import OSM data into a PostgreSQL/PostGIS database), in particular the work paid for by OSMF.
  • The SimpleTaskManager by Hauke Stieler is now also available in German, Japanese (thanks to miurahr), and partly Chinese. In the latest update it also received a new user interface for project creation.

Did you know …

  • … about the the OSM Purity Self-Test? Answer the questions, sum up your points and divide by the number of questions to get an average score. Add your score to the list below. It is in average-score decreasing order. If your average score is above 2, you might need therapy for your OSM addiction.
  • show me the way?

Other “geo” things

  • Google Design blogged about their minimalist approach to colour on Google Maps.
  • The deadline for submitting CoRe papers for the virtual 18th International Conference on Information Systems for Crisis Response and Management (ISCRAM 2021) has been extended to 21 December.
  • Just like Mapillary, Google now allows user generated Street View photos, taken with a mobile app, to be added in areas where it has low coverage. While users have been able to submit Street View imagery in the past, it required a special 360-degree camera. This new feature just makes use of an Android phone camera.
  • Komoot, a German-based portal and app for outdoor activities which uses OSM, has had a change in its share ownership (de) > en. The state of Brandenburg’s innovation fund (BFB Frühphasenfonds Brandenburg) originally supported the firm with a, reportedly, 1 million Euro investment for 15% of the share capital. This investment has now been realised, and has been sold, with both René Banko (of Karstadt Kaufhof) and Berlin-based June Fund expressing interest. The latter was successful.
  • The Pacific Northwest National Laboratory used machine learning approaches to estimate traffic density across the entire road network of a metropolis (Los Angeles) from the road network and sparse data on actual traffic density and journey times. Sounds like a very useful approach in association with OSM, but you need a heavy duty supercomputer.

Upcoming Events

Where What When Country
Berlin 150. Berlin-Brandenburg Stammtisch (Online) 2020-12-11 germany
Berlin OSM-Verkehrswende #18 (Online) 2020-12-15 germany
Cologne Bonn Airport 134. Bonner OSM-Stammtisch (Online) 2020-12-15 germany
Nottingham Nottingham pub meetup 2020-12-15 united kingdom
Lyon Rencontre mensuelle (virtuelle) 2020-12-15 france

Note: If you like to see your event here, please put it into the calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM. Please check your event in our public calendar preview and correct it, where appropriate.

This weeklyOSM was produced by AnisKoutsi, Climate_Ben, MatthiasMatthias, Nordpfeil, NunoMASAzevedo, PierZen, Polyglot, RicoElectrico, rogehm, SK53, TheSwavu, derFred, hauke-stieler.

9 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 542

  1. Small correction: In context of the Facebook attribution discussion on talk i did not ask “other companies to take a stand”, i suggested *employees of companies* in the OSM context to take a stand independent of the position and the interests of their employer.

  2. Clifford Snow says:

    How could weeklyOSM not report on the biggest stories of the week, if not in years, the circulation of “A Call to Take Action and Confront Systemic Offensive Behaviour in the OSM Community.” The document has been signed by 36 organizations and over than 250 individuals. The document was circulated well before the election results which you published.

    By not including the a report on the call to action weeklyOSM is making a statement, that the opinions of people who want a respectful community are not worth writing about.

    I urge the editors of weeklyOSM to create there own ethical standards. I believe it’s the duty of the weeklyOSM editors is to seek truth and providing a fair and comprehensive account of events and issues.

    1. Alexey says:

      Could you please include politeness into your ethical standards and submit news that you want to have in WeeklyOSM like we do?

  3. R0bst3r says:

    Never heard of “A Call to Take Action and Confront Systemic Offensive Behaviour in the OSM Community.“ This news writers do this job in their free time and don’t make political statements, they maybe also didn’t hear about it.
    Maybe you should contribute by yourself to the osm news. It’s easy possible.

  4. Rogehm says:

    Unfortunately, we were not able to report on it by the deadline of Weekly #542 on December 7. Of course we follow every important news in the OSM world. We ask for your indulgence if a matter falls victim to the editorial deadline and thus does not appear until a week later.

    The Weekly Editorial Team

  5. Jean-Marc Liotier says:

    It might just be the result of the WeeklyOSM editorial process: so as to provide sufficient time for translations, the submissions for the Sunday edition are automatically closed each Monday at 24:00 UTC, which means that a discussion occurring later during the week cannot be a story the following weekend.

  6. eteb3 says:

    The statement Clifford mentions and the discussion of it and Heather Leson’s oil-on-stormy-water comments on the list and at the AGM surely merit a full write-up?

    They haven’t got even a passing mention: not a single woman is mentioned here.

    I was wondering how big this issue is, but here’s some pretty clear evidence that it’s a problem.

Comments are closed.