hebdoOSM 560

06/04/2021-12/04/2021

lead picture

Projet EqualStreetNames [1] | Site Web et données par Open Knowledge Belgique et SPRL GEO-6 BVBA | données cartographiques © Contributeurs et contributrices OpenStreetMap

Campagnes de cartographie

  • En mars, EqualStreetNames.Leipzig a commencé à relier les rues de Leipzig (Allemagne) dans OSM avec leurs étiquettes name:etymology:wikidata=*. La prochaine session du projet commencera le 25 avril 2021 à 10h00 (UTC+2). Si vous souhaitez participer à la réunion en ligne et aider à compléter les étiquettes à Leipzig, veuillez écrire à « fey_kuehn@posteo.de » pour plus d’informations.
  • OpenStreetMap US lance un appel à idées et à propositions de sessions pour la conférence virtuelle de printemps de MappingUSA. Que vous soyez nouveau sur OpenStreetMap ou que vous ayez contribué depuis le début, ils veulent vous entendre ! Soumettez votre proposition. La date limite est le vendredi 23 avril 2021.

Cartographie

  • SwiftAddress est une application conçue pour pouvoir collecter efficacement les numéros de bâtiment pour OpenStreetMap. Bien qu’elle soit publiée sur Github, elle sera bientôt disponible sur les app stores.
  • Le mois d’avril est marqué par deux journées commémoratives internationales qui offrent des idées amusantes pour la cartographie. La Journée de la Terre, le 22 avril, témoigne du soutien à la protection de l’environnement, et la Journée internationale du vol spatial humain, moins connue, le 12 avril, qui a été créée par les Nations Unies cinquante ans après le premier vol spatial de Youri Gagarine. Continuez à soutenir OpenStreetMap en utilisant les images aériennes.
  • Le blog MapRoulette propose un nouvel article de Brian Spergolano sur la cartographie des réservoirs aux États-Unis avec de nombreux réservoirs importés il y a des années sous forme de nœuds; ce défi demande aux cartographes d’ajouter les réservoirs manquants sous forme de polygones, de supprimer ceux qui n’existent plus et, d’une manière générale, d’aider à améliorer l’hydrographie aux États-Unis. Ce défi est également présent sur MapRoulette.
  • Six membres de OSM Mauritanie ont relevé en > fr par GPS l’ensemble du réseau de transport public de la capitale, y compris les trajets informels, pour fournir la première carte interactive des lignes de bus et de taxis de la ville.
  • Des demandes de commentaires ont été faites sur les propositions suivantes :
    • Jardin de façade – pour le marquage de jardins miniatures construits contre une façade de bâtiment dans une zone urbaine avec garden:type=facade_garden
    • Fossile – pour le marquage d’un fossile, qu’il soit naturel, qu’il fasse partie d’une construction ou qu’il soit un artefact fixe avec natural=fossil
  • La proposition de remplacer landuse=forest par boundary=forestry est maintenant ouverte au vote jusqu’au 20 avril 2021. Le taux de participation est déjà beaucoup plus élevé que d’habitude et les résultats indiquent jusqu’à présent que le sujet fait partie des questions les plus controversées d’OpenStreetMap.
  • Résultats du vote de propositions :
    • trailblazed=poles;cairns : approuvé par 22 voix pour – 0 contre – 3 abstentions
    • highway=busway : approuvé par 36 voix pour – 5 contre – 1 abstention

Imports

  • Après des semaines de discussion, d’élaboration et de présentation d’une proposition d’importation, le groupe OpenStreetMap portugais va commencer à importer les adresses nationales basées sur la base de données à usage libre de l’Institut national des statistiques. Pour plus d’informations, consultez le wiki du projet ou le canal officiel du groupe sur Telegram.

Nouvelles des sections locales

  • OpenStreetMap US annonce Mapping USA, un événement virtuel gratuit qui aura lieu du 20 au 22 mai. Mapping USA comprendra un Mappy Hour informel le jeudi, une demi-journée de conférences le vendredi, et une journée d’ateliers, de groupes de discussions et de mapathons le samedi.
  • Les cartographes et sympathisants du Poitou Charentes et de l’Académie de Poitiers organisent une rencontre virtuelle le 21 avril à partir de 18h30.

Éducation

OSM – Recherches universitaires

  • Dans une vidéo Youtube, Reeniz nous montre l’évolution quantitative des bâtiments cartographiés dans les pays d’Amérique latine de 2007 à aujourd’hui.

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • Un contributeur britannique a utilisé MapUganda pour créer des tâches de cartographie humanitaire pour Merthyr Tidfil, au Pays de Galles (Royaume-Uni), justifiées par les métriques Covid-19 les plus alarmantes du Royaume-Uni. Les contributeurs britanniques n’ont pas été consultés avant ces actions et certains d’entre eux sont mécontents du manque de communication, de transparence, ainsi que de la mauvaise qualité de la cartographie, comme le fait de reclasser des routes résidentielles en autoroutes (exemple). Richard Fairhurst demande de mettre en pause l’activité de cartographie. Il doute du bien-fondé de cette tâche car le directeur local de la santé publique devrait avoir accès aux contours officiels des bâtiments. Il semble que les projets aient été retirés du gestionnaire de tâches.
  • Sophie Mower, responsable du soutien communautaire de HOT, a partagé les réactions des candidats aux micro-subventions et des membres de la communauté sur le nouveau programme de mentorat pour les candidats, ce qui les a aidés à renforcer et à affiner leurs demandes.

Cartes

  • [1] La carte générale du projet EqualStreetNames montre les 17 villes participantes de Belgique (9), d’Allemagne (5), des Pays-Bas (2) et de Serbie (1). Chaque carte des rues de la ville indique en couleurs distinctes le sexe de la personne qui a donné le nom, ainsi que les liens Wikipedia et Wikidata. Le dépôt GitHub explique en détail comment le recréer pour une ville de votre choix.
  • WOM, fournisseur de services mobiles et Internet en Colombie, révèle la couverture et la qualité de son réseau 3G et LTE sur une carte OpenStreetMap.
  • OpenPoiMap (anciennement Taglocator) est une application web, créée par Marc Zoutendijk, qui vous aide à trouver diverses balises d’intérêt, également appelées points d’intérêt, sur OpenStreetMap.

Applications

  • Mishari, un modérateur du forum OpenStreetMap thaïlandais, a eu une première expérience très positive de cartographie avec StreetComplete. Il demande si des personnes sont intéressées par un hackathon pour fournir une traduction thaïlandaise de l’application.
  • Foto-Entwerter est un outil, créé par Nakaner, permettant de cacher les visages et les plaques d’immatriculation d’un grand nombre de photos de manière manuelle mais efficace pour un grand nombre de photos. Utile, en particulier lors du téléversement de photos pour éviter la fuite d’informations personnelles.

Connaissez-vous ? …

  • Si vous vous ennuyez pendant le confinement, ImproveOsm peut vous aider et vous indiquer les éléments probablement manquants. L’outil existe en tant que plugin pour JOSM et en tant que couche iD.
  • Le serveur OpenStreetMap allemand héberge une carte qui affiche les valeurs de opening_hours d’une manière plus agréable et plus lisible. Elle permet également à l’utilisateur de consulter des attributs plus rares tels que opening_hours:kitchen, smoking_hours ou collection_times.

Autres sujets géographiques

  • Sofia Moutinho a interviewé Carlos Doviaza, un jeune cartographe qui réalise des cartes pour aider les communautés indigènes du Panama à faire face à divers problèmes, dont la pandémie de Covid en cours.
  • Le comité de district de la commune de Berg am Laim, en Allemagne, a reçu de > fr un refus de l’équipe en charge de l’application de cartes de la ville, concernant l’ajout de bancs publics pour des « raisons organisationnelles et financières » (les données requises ne sont pas actuellement disponibles sous forme numérique).
  • Le Géoportail africain annonce sur Twitter l’introduction du NigeriaGeoPortal. Le portail fournit de nombreux jeux de données sous licence cc-by et inclut OSM, entre autres, comme fond de carte.
  • Des archéologues français ont mis au jour en > fr une pierre portant des gravures vieilles de 4 000 ans qui pourraient être la plus ancienne carte tridimensionnelle en Europe. Les gravures sur la dalle de Saint-Bélec ressemblent à des lignes topographiques, notamment des collines et des cours d’eau, avec un taux de correspondance de 80 % dans une zone de 29 km de large.

Événements à venir

Where What Online When Country
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares OSM training osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
OSM Duma: Talking about OmsAnd business card, landing page, event scheduling osmcalpic 2021-04-20
138. Treffen des OSM-Stammtisches Bonn osmcalpic 2021-04-20
City of Nottingham OSM East Midlands/Nottingham meetup (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 gb
Berlin OSM-Verkehrswende #22 (Online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
Albuquerque MapABQ April virtual meetup osmcalpic 2021-04-22 flag
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares JOSM training osmcalpic 2021-04-21 flag
Missing Maps DRK Online Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-04-21
Chicago Loyola University Chicago Friends of MSF Earth Day Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
Weggis Swiss OpenStreetMap Association Annual General Meeting osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
臺北市 開發者地圖大亂鬥 osmcalpic 天瓏書局 2021-04-24 flag
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-04-26 flag
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares Mapatón Madrid streets osmcalpic 2021-04-27 flag
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Treffen (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-28 flag
[Online] OpenStreetMap Foundation board of Directors – public meeting osmcalpic 2021-04-30
Salt Lake City Map The U Spring 2021 osmcalpic 2021-04-30 – 2021-05-01 flag
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-04-30 flag
London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-05-04 gb
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-05-04 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-05-05 flag
Stuttgart: Virtueller Stammtisch am 5. Mai 2021 osmcalpic 2021-05-05
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-05-07 flag

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier OSM.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Lejun, Nordpfeil, PierZen, TheSwavu, derFred, jcr83, renecha.

2 thoughts on “hebdoOSM 560

  1. ezekielf dit :

    Describing the forestry boundary proposal as « the proposal to replace landuse=forest by boundary=forestry » is inaccurate. No wholesale replacement is being proposed, especially not a direct replacement of one tag tag to another. An accurate statement would be « the proposal to introduce boundary=forestry and deprecate landuse=forest in favor of natural=wood ».

  2. Hungerburg dit :

    Hier meine 2 Cent – zur Auffassung, dass man mit landuse=forest im Sinne von wirtschaftlich genutztem Wald die Realität abbilden würde: Weit gefehlt. Mag zwar in manchen Regionen Deutschlands so sein, ist aber international nicht haltbar. Außerdem geht es beim Proposal gar nicht um die Nutzung, sondern um die Einteilung der Reviere. The DeepL translation after copy/paste sounds good, how to translate above page?

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 560

06/04/2021-12/04/2021

lead picture

EqualStreetNames project [1] | Website and data process built by Open Knowledge Belgium and SPRL GEO-6 BVBA| map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping campaigns

  • In March, EqualStreetNames.Leipzig started to link the streets of Leipzig (Germany) in OSM with their namesakes’ Wikidata entries. The next project day is Sunday 25 April from 8:00 am UTC. If you want to participate in the online meeting and help to complete the tag landscape of Leipzig, please write to fey_kuehn@posteo.de for further information.
  • OpenStreetMap US is calling for ideas and session proposals for MappingUSA, their virtual spring conference. Whether you’re new to OSM or have been a contributor since the beginning, they want to hear from you! Submit your proposal here. The deadline is Friday 23 April.

Mapping

  • SwiftAddress is an application designed to be able to efficiently collect house numbers for OpenStreetMap. While available on GitHub, it’s planned to be released in app stores soon.
  • April brings two international commemorative days that offer fun ideas for mapping. Earth Day on Thursday 22 April demonstrates support for environmental protection, and the less well-known International Day of Human Space Flight, which is 12 April, proclaimed by the United Nations in 2011, fifty years after Yuri Gagarin’s first human space flight. You can continue to support OSM by using earth observation imagery.
  • The MapRoulette blog has a new guest post about mapping reservoirs in the United States, written by Brian Spergolano. Many reservoirs in the US were imported years ago as nodes. This challenge asks mappers to add missing reservoirs as polygons, remove those that no longer exist, and generally help improve water mapping in the USA. The challenge is also featured at MapRoulette.
  • Six members of OSM Mauritania have GPS traced the entire public transport network in the capital, Nouakchott, including informal transit. The result: the first interactive map for the city’s bus and taxi routes.
  • Requests have been made for comments on the following proposals:
    • Facade garden – for tagging miniature gardens built against a building facade in an urban area with garden:type=facade_garden
    • Fossil – for tagging a fossil, either naturally occurring, as a part of a construction, or as a fixed artefact, with natural=fossil
  • The proposal to replace landuse=forest by boundary=forestry is open for voting until Tuesday 20 April. The turnout is already much higher than usual (109 votes at the time of publication) and the results so far indicate that the topic belongs to the class of the more controversial issues in OSM.
  • Voting has ended for the following proposals:

Imports

  • After weeks of discussion, elaboration and the presentation of an import proposal, the Portuguese OpenStreetMap group will start importing national addresses based on the free use database of the National Statistics Institute. For more information, consult the project’s wiki page (pt) > en or the group’s official channel on Telegram.

Local chapter news

  • OpenStreetMap US announced Mapping USA, a free virtual event that will take place on 20 to 22 May. Mapping USA will include an informal Mappy Hour on Thursday, a half day of talks on Friday, and a day of workshops, birds of a feather sessions and mapathons on Saturday.
  • Mappers from the Poitou-Charentes region, in France, will hold an online meeting fr on Wednesday 21 April at 6:30 pm.

Education

OSM research

  • In a YouTube video, Reeniz shows us the numerical evolution of mapped buildings in Latin American countries from 2007 to today.

Humanitarian OSM

  • A UK contributor used MapUganda to create Humanitarian Mapping tasks for Merthyr Tidfil, Wales in the UK and justified their changes by citing the most alarming COVID-19 metrics in the UK. UK contributors were not consulted prior to these actions and some contributors are upset by the lack of communication and transparency, and poor mapping quality, such as retagging residential roads as motorways (example) (see discussion). Richard Fairhurst asked that the mapping activity be paused. He doubts the rationale of the task because the local Director of Public Health should have access to authoritative building footprints. It appears the projects have now been removed from the tasking manager.
  • HOT’s Community Support Manager, Sophie Mower, shared feedback received from microgrant applicants and community members on the new mentorship program for applicants, which helped them to strengthen and refine their applications.

Maps

  • [1] The overview map of the EqualStreetNames project shows the 17 cities currently participating, from Belgium (9), Germany (5), the Netherlands (2), and Serbia (1). Each of the city street maps shows, in distinguishable colours, the gender of the person the street is named after, and the Wikipedia and Wikidata links. The GitHub repository explains in detail how to create one for a city of your choice.
  • WOM, mobile and Internet provider in Colombia, has (es) an OSM-based map that shows the coverage and quality of its G3 and LTE network.
  • OpenPoiMap (formerly Taglocator) is a web application, created by Marc Zoutendijk, that helps you find various tags of interest, also called points of interest, on OpenStreetMap.

Software

  • Mishari, a moderator of the Thai OSM forum, had a very positive first experience of mapping with StreetComplete. They ask if people are interested in a localisation hackathon to provide a Thai translation for the app.
  • Foto-Entwerter is a tool, created by Michael Reichert, to black out faces and number (licence) plates from a large number of photos in a manual but efficient way for a large number of photos. Especially useful to avoid leaking personal information when uploading pictures.

Did you know …

  • … if you feel bored during the lockdown, ImproveOsm can help by pointing to probable missing features for you to map? The tool exists both as a plug-in for JOSM and as an iD layer.
  • … the German OSM server hosts a map that displays the values of opening_hours in a pleasing, human-readable way? It also allows the user to switch to more uncommon tags such as opening_hours:kitchen, smoking_hours, and collection_times.

Other “geo” things

  • Sofia Moutinho interviewed Carlos Doviaza, a young mapper making maps to help Panama’s indigenous communities deal with various issues, including the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
  • The district committee from the Munich suburb of Berg am Laim, Germany, received de > en a refusal for ‘organisational and financial reasons’ from the city’s map application team regarding the addition of public benches (the required data is not currently available in a digital form) .
  • The Africa GeoPortal tweeted an introduction to the NigeriaGeoPortal. The portal provides a lot of CC-BY licensed datasets, with OSM as a basemap.
  • French archaeologists have uncovered a stone with 4,000-year-old etchings they believe may be the oldest three-dimensional map found in Europe. The engravings on the Saint-Bélec Slab resemble topographical features including hills and a river network with a match rate of 80% along a 29 km stretch of the L’Odet.

Upcoming Events

Where What Online When Country
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares OSM training osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
OSM Duma: Talking about OmsAnd business card, landing page, event scheduling osmcalpic 2021-04-20
138. Treffen des OSM-Stammtisches Bonn osmcalpic 2021-04-20
City of Nottingham OSM East Midlands/Nottingham meetup (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 gb
Berlin OSM-Verkehrswende #22 (Online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
Lüneburg Lüneburger Mappertreffen (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-20 flag
Albuquerque MapABQ April virtual meetup osmcalpic 2021-04-22 flag
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares JOSM training osmcalpic 2021-04-21 flag
Missing Maps DRK Online Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-04-21
Chicago Loyola University Chicago Friends of MSF Earth Day Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
Weggis Swiss OpenStreetMap Association Annual General Meeting osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-04-23 flag
臺北市 開發者地圖大亂鬥 osmcalpic 天瓏書局 2021-04-24 flag
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-04-26 flag
Área metropolitana de Madrid y Corredor del Henares Mapatón Madrid streets osmcalpic 2021-04-27 flag
Düsseldorf Düsseldorfer OSM-Treffen (online) osmcalpic 2021-04-28 flag
[Online] OpenStreetMap Foundation board of Directors – public meeting osmcalpic 2021-04-30
Salt Lake City Map The U Spring 2021 osmcalpic 2021-04-30 – 2021-05-01 flag
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-04-30 flag
London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-05-04 gb
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-05-04 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-05-05 flag
Stuttgart: Virtueller Stammtisch am 5. Mai 2021 osmcalpic 2021-05-05
gmina Krośniewice Virtual meeting of the Polish OSM Association osmcalpic 2021-05-07 flag

Note:
If you like to see your event here, please put it into the OSM calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Lejun, Nordpfeil, PierZen, Polyglot, SK53, SunCobalt, TheSwavu, alesarrett, derFred.

2 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 560

  1. ezekielf says:

    Describing the forestry boundary proposal as “the proposal to replace landuse=forest by boundary=forestry” is inaccurate. No wholesale replacement is being proposed, especially not a direct replacement of one tag tag to another. An accurate statement would be “the proposal to introduce boundary=forestry and deprecate landuse=forest in favor of natural=wood”.

  2. Hungerburg says:

    Hier meine 2 Cent – zur Auffassung, dass man mit landuse=forest im Sinne von wirtschaftlich genutztem Wald die Realität abbilden würde: Weit gefehlt. Mag zwar in manchen Regionen Deutschlands so sein, ist aber international nicht haltbar. Außerdem geht es beim Proposal gar nicht um die Nutzung, sondern um die Einteilung der Reviere. The DeepL translation after copy/paste sounds good, how to translate above page?

Comments are closed.