Wochennotiz 583

14.09.2021-20.09.2021

lead picture

b-unicycling: Survey → StreetComplete → Notes → Editor → OSM Data [1] © b-unicycling | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • Die folgenden Vorschläge warten auf Eure Kommentare:
    • natural=fumarole, um eine Öffnung in der Erdkruste zu kartieren, aus der Dampf und Gase austreten.
    • outlet=*, um Düker oder Pipeline-Auslässe detaillierter zu kartieren.
    • historic=creamery zur Kennzeichnung eines Industriegebäudes, in dem aus Milch Butter, Käse oder Speiseeis hergestellt wurde.
  • Das Proposal club=cadet für einen Treffpunkt lokaler Jugendgruppen, die sich als Teil einer Nachwuchsorganisation wie z. B. Feuerwehr und Rettungsdienste verstehen, wurde ohne Gegenstimmen angenommen.
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel aka b-unicycling eine irische Craftmapperin zeigt detailliert in einem (en)-sprachigen Video, wie man reihenweise Leerstand in OSM erfassen kann. Bei der Begehung vor Ort nutzt sie StreetComplete, um Notizen in OSM zu hinterlassen, die sie dann in iD bearbeitet.
  • Carl Myhill hat sich bei Komoot darüber beschwert, dass im Richmond Park, London, Radfahrer auf Wege geleitet werden, auf denen das Radfahren verboten ist und das mit einer Geldstrafe von 60 Pfund belegt sind. Komoot verlangt eine formelle Benachrichtigung über solche Probleme und diese wurde von den Royal Parks geliefert. Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.
  • Über einen Zeitraum von 5 Tagen kartierten die Teilnehmer des University Battle Mapping 2021 mehr als 93.000 Gebäude in Indonesien. OpenStreetMap.id ruft dazu auf, weiter zu kartographieren um Gewinner beim University Battle Mapping 2021 zu werden.
  • Barry McGuire schlägt eine umfassende Überarbeitung der Verwendung der Tags highway=trunk und highway=primary in Großbritannien vor, einschließlich eines entsprechenden Vorschlags im Wiki. Leider hat er, anstatt das Feedback auf der Mailingliste und im Wiki zu bewerten, eine Reihe von Änderungen nach seinem neuen Schema vorgenommen. Nach den Kommentaren zu den Änderungen zu urteilen waren diese nicht beliebt und wurden nun rückgängig gemacht.
  • Im Forum fragt (en) > de NicoHood nach der Verwendung des Schlüssels class:bicycle für die linke und rechte Seite von Autobahnen. In den meisten Antworten wird vorgeschlagen, alternative, objektivere Tags zu verwenden.
  • LysSioS berichtet (fr) > de, dass sie die Zuordnung der Adressen in der Gemeinde Alès abgeschlossen haben. Die Erfassung ländlicher Adressen erwies sich als wesentlich zeitaufwändiger als die städtischer Adressen.
  • mariotomo beschreibt (en) > de detailliert, wie man fehlende Straßenabschnitte mit Hilfe der Low-Res-Heatmap von Strava erfassen kann. Er bemerkt allerdings leicht ironisch: „Die hier beschriebene Kartierungspraxis ist vollständig manuell und ihre Geschwindigkeit ist ganz offensichtlich umgekehrt proportional zu der gewünschten Präzision.“
  • mdroad hat sich eine Entscheidungsmatrix zur Klassifizierung von Straßen erstellt. Für Anfänger sind auch die Wikiseiten Highways und Highway_tagging_samples/out_of_town mit ihren Bildern sehr hilfreich.
  • Der Reddit-Benutzer sporesofdoubt hat im Laufe des Sommers die Mikrokartierung der 183 Stadtparks in Phoenix, Arizona, abgeschlossen (en) > de (wir berichteten bereits über das Erreichen des Meilensteins von 100 Parks).

Community

  • Die Aufzeichnungen des HOT-Webinars Local OSM Community Building: Tipps, Tricks und Herausforderungen sind jetzt verfügbar.
  • cmoffroad schildert die Perspektiven eines neuen OSM-Kartierers in Thailand. AlsakdDave, nitinatsangsit und Bernhard Hiller versuchen, die Frustrationen des Anfängers mit ihren Ortskenntnissen aufzufangen.
  • Free Local Mappers aus Guinea haben in ihrem Bestreben, GIS und die Offenheit von Geodaten zu bewerben, kürzlich eine Reihe von GIS- und Fernerkundungsschulungen für Mitarbeiter eines internationalen Unternehmens mit Sitz in Conakry durchgeführt.
  • Die State of the Map Konferenz hat damit begonnen, die Videos vom Juli auf Youtube und media.ccc.de hochzuladen.Die Vorträge, die in andere Sprachen übersetzt wurden, werden hochgeladen, sobald sie von den freiwilligen Übersetzern fertiggestellt wurden.
  • Die Trufi Association hat fünf Mitarbeiter eingestellt, nachdem die Organisation für die Kartierung des öffentlichen Verkehrs zwei Jahre lang als reine Freiwilligenorganisation tätig war.
  • Der Benutzer Tirkon beschwert sich im deutschen Forum darüber, dass OSM-Kacheln nicht aktualisiert werden. In der darauf folgenden Diskussion wird viel darüber diskutiert, wie Kartenaktualisierungen auf die Bildschirme der Nutzer gelangen.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • Die Engineering Working Group der OSMF sucht Mitarbeiter mit Kenntnissen in den in OSM-Schlüsselsystemen verwendeten Technologien: Rails-Port, Ruby on Rails im Allgemeinen und der cgimap-Implementierung der OSM-API. Aber auch Kenntnisse im Design von Benutzeroberflächen sind gerne gesehen.

Humanitarian OSM

  • OSGeo und HOT unterzeichneten (en) > de eine Absichtserklärung mit dem Ziel, den Einsatz von Open-Source Geodaten-Software zu fördern, um eine partizipative, von der Gemeinschaft getragene Entwicklung zu ermöglichen.

Karten

  • Das französische Luftqualitätsobservatorium ATMO hat (fr) > de eine Karte veröffentlicht, die landesweit mehrere Messdaten zeigt und OpenStreetMap als Basiskarte verwendet.
  • Tracestrack lädt dazu ein, ihren Kacheldienst zu testen. Die Nutzer können dies bis März 2022 kostenlos tun. Die Karte basiert auf dem OSM-Carto-Stil, mit einigen einzigartigen Merkmalen: Unterstützung für mehrere zusätzliche Tags wie highway=busway, embankment=yes und landuse=aquaculture, halbtransparente Autobahnbereiche, sprachlich getrennte Bezeichner und 3D-Gebäude. Leider ist die korrekte Attributierung versteckt.

switch2OSM

  • SomeoneElse hat (en) > de eine zusätzliche Dokumentation für die Erstellung eines Kachel-Servers auf Ubuntu 21.04 bereitgestellt. Letzteres ist keine langzeitunterstützte Version, so dass Ubuntu 20.04 LTS immer noch die bevorzugte Plattform für den Produktivbetrieb ist. Er weist auch auf einige Probleme hin, die beim Befolgen dieser Anweisungen auftreten können.

Open-Data

  • Die Website datos.gob.es, eine Plattform, auf der die spanische Regierung offene Daten fördert, hat (es) die Anwendung Organic Maps (es) > de in ihren Katalog aufgenommen und betont, dass es sich um eine Open-Source-Anwendung handelt, die auf OpenStreetMap-Daten basiert.

Lizenzen

  • Owen Boswarva berichtet, dass offene Daten zur Strominfrastruktur im Vereinigten Königreich im Oktober veröffentlicht werden sollen. Jo Walsh (ultrazool) erkundigt sich nach der zu verwendenden Lizenz, was zu einer kurzen Diskussion über die Eignung verschiedener offener Lizenzen für offene Daten von Nichtregierungsorganisationen führte.

Programme

Programmierung

  • Das Overpass API Python Wrapper Projekt sucht einen neuen Betreuer. Martijn van Exel hat dieses Projekt vor 7 Jahren begonnen, aber er gibt an, dass er nicht mehr die Zeit hat, es zu pflegen. Das Projekt wurde auf Github mehr als 260 Mal mit einem Sternchen versehen.

Kennst du schon …

  • … die englische Grafschaft Devon, die eine besondere Kennzeichnung auf Straßenschildern eingeführt hat (en) > de? Das Ziel war es, darauf hinzuweisen, dass bestimmte Straßen oder Routen für verschiedene Fahrzeugtypen, einschließlich Wohnwagen, nicht geeignet sind.
  • … die Wikiseite über gleichnamige Schlüssel? Die Seite wird größtenteils von Minh Nyugen gepflegt. Sie identifiziert Schlüssel, die je nach ihrer Verwendung unterschiedliche Bedeutungen haben.
  • … die komplette Toolsammlung für OpenStreetMap von Pascal Neis?

Weitere Themen mit Geo-Bezug

  • GeoHipster plant für 2022 wieder einen Kalender und bittet (en) > de um die Einsendung eurer Karten.
  • Ars Technica berichtet (en) > de über neue technische Analysen der Vinland-Karte, die lange Zeit als Fälschung verdächtigt wurde. Die neuen Daten beseitigen jeden Rest von Zweifel, dass es sich tatsächlich um eine Fälschung handelt. Mit Hilfe der Röntgenfluoreszenzspektroskopie wurde die elementare Zusammensetzung der gesamten Karte analysiert. Dabei wurde das Vorhandensein von Titandioxid, einem Pigment, das erst seit den 1920-er Jahren verwendet wird, in den Linien und im Text der Karte bestätigt. Eine echte mittelalterliche Gallustinte hätte stattdessen erhebliche Mengen an Eisen enthalten.
  • Weniger ob Smartphone-Trackaufzeichnungen die OSM-Karte verschmutzen, aber viel mehr über die GNSS-Positionsgenauigkeit in verschiedenen Szenarien berichten die Links in jidannis Tagebucheintrag.
  • Die Gesellschaft für Wärmeenergie in Gdynia hat eine (pl) > en Karte veröffentlicht, die die Wärmeenergieverluste in der Stadt und den angrenzenden Gemeinden zeigt.
  • Yarik32 schreibt (ru) > de eine Anleitung, wie man auf OSM basierende Memes mit Hilfe von Overpass Turbo und QGIS erstellen kann.

Wochenvorschau

Wo Was Online Wann Land
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
Amsterdam OSM Nederland maandelijkse bijeenkomst (online) osmcalpic 2021-09-25 flag
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

Hinweis:
Wer seinen Termin hier in der Liste sehen möchte, trage ihn in den OSM Kalender ein. Nur Termine, die dort stehen, werden in die Wochennotiz übernommen.

Diese Wochennotiz wurde erstellt von MatthiasMatthias, Nordpfeil, SK53, Strubbl, TheSwavu, arnalielsewhere, deeplPro API Call, derFred.

6 thoughts on “Wochennotiz 583

  1. sagt:

    „Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.“
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter sagt:

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that „smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map“? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven sagt:

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst sagt:

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 583

14/09/2021-20/09/2021

lead picture

b-unicycling: Survey → StreetComplete → Notes → Editor → OSM Data [1] © b-unicycling | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • Requests have been made for comments on the following proposals:
    • natural=fumarole to map an opening in a planet’s crust, which emits steam and gases.
    • outlet=* to map culvert or pipeline outlets with more details.
    • historic=creamery for tagging an industrial building where butter, cheese or ice cream was made from milk.
  • The proposal club=cadet, intended to be used to map the locations where various Youth Cadet groups meet, together with details of each group, has been approved with 15 votes for, 0 votes against and 1 abstention.
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel aka b-unicycling, an Irish craftmapper, showed in a video how to capture details of vacant properties in OSM. When walking on site, she uses StreetComplete to leave notes in OSM, which she then edits in iD.
  • Carl Myhill complained to Komoot that it was routing cyclists in Richmond Park (London) on paths where cycling is forbidden, and subject to a £60 fine. Komoot requires formal notification of such issues and this was provided by the Royal Parks. In the UK ways mapped as track, service, or path cannot be assumed to allow any access mode other than private without other explicit tagging. Komoot, however, does not follow these defaults.
  • Over a period of five days, participants of University Battle Mapping 2021 mapped over 93,000 buildings in Indonesia.
  • Barry McGuire suggested a large scale revision of how the highway=trunk and highway=primary tags are used in the UK, including an associated proposal on the wiki. Unfortunately, instead of assessing feedback on the mailing list, and the wiki, he made a number of edits following his new scheme. Judging by changeset comments these were not popular and have now been reverted.
  • On the forum NicoHood asked about using the class:bicycle key for the left and right sides of highways. Most responses suggest using alternative, more objective, tags.
  • LysSioS reported (fr) > en
    that they have finished mapping addresses in the commune of Alès. Mapping rural addresses proved to be much more time consuming than urban ones.
  • mariotomo described in detail how to capture missing road sections using Strava’s low-res heatmap. However, he notes slightly ironically: ‘The mapping practice described here is completely manual, and its speed is obviously inversely proportional to the desired precision’.
  • mdroad has come up with a decision matrix for classifying roads. For beginners, the wiki pages Highways and Highway_tagging_samples/out_of_town with their pictures are also very helpful.
  • Reddit user sporesofdoubt has now completed micro-mapping the 183 city parks in Phoenix, Arizona over the summer (we reported them reaching the 100 park milestone earlier).

Community

  • The recordings of HOT’s webinar Local OSM Community Building: Tips, Tricks and Challenges are now available.
  • cmoffroad outlined their experience of being a new OSM mapper in Thailand. AlaskaDave, nitinatsangsit and Bernhard Hiller tried to ease the frustrations of the beginner with their local knowledge.
  • Free Local Mappers from Guinea, in its drive to promote GIS and openness of spatial data, recently conducted(fr) > en a series of GIS and remote sensing training sessions for employees of an international firm based in Conakry.
  • The State of the Map conference has begun uploading videos from July to YouTube and media.ccc.de. The talks that had audio translations into other languages will be uploaded when they have been finalised by the volunteer translators.
  • Trufi Association has hired a staff of five professionals, graduating from the public transport mapping organisation’s two-year run as an all-volunteer NGO.
  • User Tirkon complained (de) > en, on the German forum, about OSM tiles not refreshing. The ensuing discussion covers a lot of ground regarding how map updates get to users’ screens.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • The Engineering Working Group of OSMF is looking for people with knowledge of the technologies used in OSM’s key systems: Rails port, Ruby on Rails in general, and the cgimap implementation of the OSM API. Knowledge of user interface design would be also welcome.

Humanitarian OSM

  • OSGeo and HOT signed a memorandum of understanding with the goal of fostering the use of open-source geospatial software, to enable participatory community-driven development.

Maps

  • The French air quality observatory ATMO’s Atmo Data released (fr) a map showing measured data nationwide which uses OpenStreetMap as a baselayer.
  • Tracestrack is inviting people to trial its tile service. Users can do this for free until March 2022. The map is based on the OSM-Carto style, with some unique characteristics: support for several extra tags, such as highway=busway,embankment=yes, and landuse=aquaculture, semi-transparent highway areas, separated language labels and 3D buildings. Unfortunately the appropriate attribution is hidden.

switch2OSM

  • SomeoneElse has provided additional documentation for building a tile server on Ubuntu 21.04. This is not a long-term support release so Ubuntu 20.04 LTS is still the preferred platform for production. He also notes a couple of issues which may occur whilst following these instructions.

Open Data

  • The website datos.gob.es, a platform where the Spanish government promotes open data, has included (es) the Organic Maps (es) > en app in its catalogue, highlighting that it is an open source app and is based on OpenStreetMap data.

Licences

  • Owen Boswarva reported that open data on power infrastructure in the UK are scheduled for release in October. Jo Walsh (ultrazool) asked about which licence would be used, resulting in a short discussion about the suitability of various open licences for non-government open data.

Software

Programming

  • The Overpass API Python Wrapper project is looking for a new maintainer. Martijn van Exel started this project 7 years ago, but he has indicated that he does not have the time to maintain it any more. The project has been starred on GitHub more than 260 times.

Did you know …

  • … the English county of Devon has adopted special notation on road signs? The goal is to indicate that specific roads or routes are not suitable for various types of vehicles, including those towing caravans.
  • … the wiki page on homonymous keys? The page is largely maintained by Minh Nyugen, and it identifies keys that mean different things according to how they are used.
  • … the complete tools collection for OpenStreetMap built by Pascal Neis?

Other “geo” things

  • GeoHipster is planning to publish a calendar again for 2022 and is asking for submissions of your maps.
  • Ars Technica reported on new technical analyses of the Vinland Map (of the North American Atlantic coast), long suspected of being a fake. The new data remove any residue of doubt that it is, indeed, a fake. X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy was used to analyse the elemental composition of the entire map. This confirmed the presence of titanium dioxide, a pigment which only started being used in the 1920s, throughout the lines and text of the map. A true medieval gall ink would have had considerable quantities of iron instead.
  • Jdanni’s diary is less about whether smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map, but much more about GNSS position accuracy in various scenarios reported in the links.
  • The Thermal Energy Company of Gdynia has published (pl) > en
    a map showing thermal energy losses across the city and adjacent communities.
  • Yarik32 has written (ru) > de a tutorial on how to create OSM-based memes using Overpass Turbo and QGIS.

Upcoming Events

Where What Online When Country
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
臺北市 OpenStreetMap x Wikidata Taipei #33 osmcalpic 2021-10-04 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

Note:
If you like to see your event here, please put it into the OSM calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Nordpfeil, PierZen, SK53, Strubbl, TheSwavu, YoViajo, arnalielsewhere, derFred.

6 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 583

  1. says:

    “Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.”
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter says:

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that “smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map”? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven says:

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst says:

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.