週刊OSM 583

2021/09/14-2021/09/20

lead picture

b-unicycling:調查 → StreetComplete → 註記 → 編輯器 → OSM 資料 [1] © b-unicycling | 地圖資料 © OpenStreetMap contributors

畫地圖

  • 以下提案正在徵求意見:
    • natural=fumarole 用於繪製行星地殼,會釋放蒸氣與其他氣體的開口。
    • outlet=* 為涵洞或管道出口提供更多詳細資訊。
    • history=creamery 用來標記曾經用牛奶製成奶油、奶酪或冰淇淋的工業建築。
  • club=cadet 提案旨在用於繪製各種青年學員團體聚會的地點,以及每個團體的詳細資訊,在無反對票的情況下通過
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel(又稱 b-unicycling)是一位愛爾蘭的製圖師,在影片中詳細展示了如何捕捉成排的空地。田野調查時,她使用 StreetComplete 在 OSM 中留下註記,然後在 iD 中進行編輯。
  • Carl Myhill 抱怨說 Komoot 在倫敦里奇蒙公園將自行車騎士導航至禁止騎自行車的道路上,並被罰款 60 英鎊。Komoot 要求正式通知此類問題,這是由皇家公園提供的。在英國,繪製為軌跡、服務、路徑的方式不能假定允許除私人之外的任何進入模式,而不需要其他明確標記。但是 Komoot 並不遵循這些預設值。
  • 在五天的時間內,2021大學戰鬥地圖的參與者繪製了印尼的九萬三千多座建築物。
  • Barry McGuire 建議對在英國如何使用 highway=trunkhighway=primary 標籤進行大規模修訂,包括 wiki 上的相關提案。不幸的是,他沒有評估郵件清單和 wiki 上的回饋,而是按照他的新計劃進行了一些編輯。從變更集評論來看,這些編輯並不被接受,現在已經都被回退恢復。
  • 在論壇上 NicoHood 詢問如何將 class:bicycle 鍵用於公路的左右兩側。大多數回復建議使用替代的、更客觀的標籤。
  • LysSioS 回報(fr)>zh-tw他們已經完成阿萊斯市鎮的地址繪製。事實證明,繪製農村的地址比繪製都市的地址更耗時。
  • marioomo 詳細描述了如何使用 Strava 的低解析度熱力圖來擷取遺失的路段。然而,他略帶諷刺地指出:「這裡描述的繪圖完全是手動的,其速度顯然與所需的精度成反比。」
  • mdroad 提出了一個用於對道路進行分類的決策矩陣。對於初學者來說,包含圖片的 wiki 頁面 HighwaysHighway_tagging_samples/out_of_town 也很有幫助。
  • Reddit 使用者 sporesofdoubt 利用了整個夏天完成了亞利桑那州鳳凰城的 183 個城市公園的微型地圖繪製(我們曾報導過說它們稍早達到了 100 個公園的里程碑)。

社群

  • HOT 的網路研討會 Local OSM Community Building: Tips, Tricks and Challenges 的錄影現已發佈。
  • cmoffroad 表達了泰國 OSM 中新圖客的觀點。AlsakdDavenitinatsangsitBernhard Hiller 試圖用他們的當地知識來接住初學者的挫敗感。
  • 來自幾內亞的 Free Local Mappers 致力於促進 GIS 和空間資料的開放,最近為位於科納克里的一家國際公司的員工進行了一系列 GIS 和遙測培訓。
  • The State of the Map 研討會已從七月開始將影片上傳到 YouTubemedia.ccc.de。那些有將音訊翻譯成其他語言的演講將在志願者翻譯完成後上傳。
  • Trufi 協會聘請了五名專業人員,因此他們從公共交通地圖繪製組織為期兩年的全志願非政府組織畢業了。
  • 使用者 Tirkon 在德國論壇上抱怨(de)>zh-tw關於 OSM 圖磚不會重新整理的問題。隨後的討論涵蓋了很多地圖更新如何到達使用者螢幕上的基礎。

開放街圖基金會

  • OSMF 的工程工作小組正在尋找了解 OSM 關鍵系統所用技術的人才:Rails 移植、一般的 Ruby on Rails 以及 OSM API 的 cgimap 實作。但使用者介面設計方面的知識也是受歡迎的。

人道救援畫地圖

  • OSGeo 與 HOT 簽署了一份諒解備忘錄,旨在促進開放原始碼地理空間資料軟體的使用,以實現參與式社群驅動的開發。

地圖

  • 法國空氣品質觀測站 ATMO 釋出了 Atmo Data。以 OpenStreetMap 為地圖顯示全國多個測量資料的地圖。
  • Tracestrack 正在邀請人們試用其圖磚服務。使用者可以在2022年3月之前免費執行此操作。該地圖以 OSM-Carto 樣式為基礎,包含了一些了獨特的功能:支援多個額外標籤,例如 highway=buswayembankment=yeslanduse=aquaculture、半透明高速公路區域、分離的語言標籤與 3D 建築。不幸的是,並未有適當的署名。

switch2OSM

  • SomeElse 提供了用於在 Ubuntu 21.04 上建構圖磚伺服器的額外資訊。此版本並非長期支援版本,因此 Ubuntu 20.04 LTS 仍是首選的生產平台。他還指出了在遵循這些說明時可能會出現的一些問題。

開放資料

  • 網站 datos.gob.es 是西班牙政府推廣開放資料的平台,已將 Organic Maps 應用程序納入其目錄,強調它是一款以 OpenStreetMap 資料為基礎的開放原始碼應用程式。

授權

  • Owen Boswarva 回報稱,英國電力基礎設施的開放資料將於10月發布。Jo Walsh (ultrazool) 詢問將使用哪種授權條款,導致對各種開放授權條款對非政府開放資料的適用性的簡短討論。

軟體

程式開發

  • Overpass API Python Wrapper 專案正在尋找新的維護者。Martijn van Exel 七年前啟動了此專案,但他表示他沒有時間再維護它了。該專案在 GitHub 上已取得超過 260 顆星星。

你知道嗎?

  • ……英國德文郡在道路標誌上採用了特殊符號?目標是表明特定道路或路線不適合各種類型的車輛,包含牽引大篷車的車輛。
  • ……關於同名鍵的 wiki 頁面?該頁面主要由 Minh Nyugen 維護,其根據使用方式識別實際上意味著不同事物的鍵。
  • ……Pascal Neis 的 OpenStreetMap 完整工具集

其他地理事情

  • GeoHipster 正在規劃2022年的行事曆,並要求遞交您的地圖。
  • Ars Technica報導了文蘭島地圖的新技術分析,其長期以來一直被懷疑是偽造的。新資料消除了對它確實是假的任何懷疑。X 射線螢光光譜用於分析整個地圖的元素組成。這證實了二氧化鈦的存在,這種顏料直到1920年代才開始在地圖的所有線條和文字中使用。真正的中世紀墨水應該含有大量的鐵。
  • 關於智慧型手機軌跡紀錄是否會污染 OSM 地圖的內容相當少,但更多關於 jidanni 日記項目中的連結中回報的各種場景中的 GNSS 位置準確度。
  • 格地尼亞熱能公司發佈了(pl)>zh-tw一張地圖,顯示了整個城市與鄰近社區的熱能損失。
  • Yarik32 寫道(ru)>zh-tw一個關於如何使用 Overpass Turbo 與 QGIS 建立以 OSM 為基礎的迷因的教學課程。

未來活動

地點 活動名稱 Online 日期 所在國
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
臺北市 OpenStreetMap x Wikidata Taipei #33 osmcalpic 2021-10-04 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

註: 你也可以在這裡展示你發起的活動!只須在行事曆上塡妥活動資訊即可。 只有記載於行事曆上的活動資訊才會在《週刊OSM》列出。你也可以在行事曆預覽檢查你提交的活動, 並作出適當更正

這期 weeklyOSM 由 SK53, Strubbl, Supaplex, TheSwavu, arnalielsewhere, derFred, s8321414 編譯 ##team##

6 thoughts on “週刊OSM 583

  1. 表示:

    “Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.”
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter表示:

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that “smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map”? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven表示:

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst表示:

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 583

14/09/2021-20/09/2021

lead picture

b-unicycling: Survey → StreetComplete → Notes → Editor → OSM Data [1] © b-unicycling | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • Requests have been made for comments on the following proposals:
    • natural=fumarole to map an opening in a planet’s crust, which emits steam and gases.
    • outlet=* to map culvert or pipeline outlets with more details.
    • historic=creamery for tagging an industrial building where butter, cheese or ice cream was made from milk.
  • The proposal club=cadet, intended to be used to map the locations where various Youth Cadet groups meet, together with details of each group, has been approved with 15 votes for, 0 votes against and 1 abstention.
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel aka b-unicycling, an Irish craftmapper, showed in a video how to capture details of vacant properties in OSM. When walking on site, she uses StreetComplete to leave notes in OSM, which she then edits in iD.
  • Carl Myhill complained to Komoot that it was routing cyclists in Richmond Park (London) on paths where cycling is forbidden, and subject to a £60 fine. Komoot requires formal notification of such issues and this was provided by the Royal Parks. In the UK ways mapped as track, service, or path cannot be assumed to allow any access mode other than private without other explicit tagging. Komoot, however, does not follow these defaults.
  • Over a period of five days, participants of University Battle Mapping 2021 mapped over 93,000 buildings in Indonesia.
  • Barry McGuire suggested a large scale revision of how the highway=trunk and highway=primary tags are used in the UK, including an associated proposal on the wiki. Unfortunately, instead of assessing feedback on the mailing list, and the wiki, he made a number of edits following his new scheme. Judging by changeset comments these were not popular and have now been reverted.
  • On the forum NicoHood asked about using the class:bicycle key for the left and right sides of highways. Most responses suggest using alternative, more objective, tags.
  • LysSioS reported (fr) > en
    that they have finished mapping addresses in the commune of Alès. Mapping rural addresses proved to be much more time consuming than urban ones.
  • mariotomo described in detail how to capture missing road sections using Strava’s low-res heatmap. However, he notes slightly ironically: ‘The mapping practice described here is completely manual, and its speed is obviously inversely proportional to the desired precision’.
  • mdroad has come up with a decision matrix for classifying roads. For beginners, the wiki pages Highways and Highway_tagging_samples/out_of_town with their pictures are also very helpful.
  • Reddit user sporesofdoubt has now completed micro-mapping the 183 city parks in Phoenix, Arizona over the summer (we reported them reaching the 100 park milestone earlier).

Community

  • The recordings of HOT’s webinar Local OSM Community Building: Tips, Tricks and Challenges are now available.
  • cmoffroad outlined their experience of being a new OSM mapper in Thailand. AlaskaDave, nitinatsangsit and Bernhard Hiller tried to ease the frustrations of the beginner with their local knowledge.
  • Free Local Mappers from Guinea, in its drive to promote GIS and openness of spatial data, recently conducted(fr) > en a series of GIS and remote sensing training sessions for employees of an international firm based in Conakry.
  • The State of the Map conference has begun uploading videos from July to YouTube and media.ccc.de. The talks that had audio translations into other languages will be uploaded when they have been finalised by the volunteer translators.
  • Trufi Association has hired a staff of five professionals, graduating from the public transport mapping organisation’s two-year run as an all-volunteer NGO.
  • User Tirkon complained (de) > en, on the German forum, about OSM tiles not refreshing. The ensuing discussion covers a lot of ground regarding how map updates get to users’ screens.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • The Engineering Working Group of OSMF is looking for people with knowledge of the technologies used in OSM’s key systems: Rails port, Ruby on Rails in general, and the cgimap implementation of the OSM API. Knowledge of user interface design would be also welcome.

Humanitarian OSM

  • OSGeo and HOT signed a memorandum of understanding with the goal of fostering the use of open-source geospatial software, to enable participatory community-driven development.

Maps

  • The French air quality observatory ATMO’s Atmo Data released (fr) a map showing measured data nationwide which uses OpenStreetMap as a baselayer.
  • Tracestrack is inviting people to trial its tile service. Users can do this for free until March 2022. The map is based on the OSM-Carto style, with some unique characteristics: support for several extra tags, such as highway=busway,embankment=yes, and landuse=aquaculture, semi-transparent highway areas, separated language labels and 3D buildings. Unfortunately the appropriate attribution is hidden.

switch2OSM

  • SomeoneElse has provided additional documentation for building a tile server on Ubuntu 21.04. This is not a long-term support release so Ubuntu 20.04 LTS is still the preferred platform for production. He also notes a couple of issues which may occur whilst following these instructions.

Open Data

  • The website datos.gob.es, a platform where the Spanish government promotes open data, has included (es) the Organic Maps (es) > en app in its catalogue, highlighting that it is an open source app and is based on OpenStreetMap data.

Licences

  • Owen Boswarva reported that open data on power infrastructure in the UK are scheduled for release in October. Jo Walsh (ultrazool) asked about which licence would be used, resulting in a short discussion about the suitability of various open licences for non-government open data.

Software

Programming

  • The Overpass API Python Wrapper project is looking for a new maintainer. Martijn van Exel started this project 7 years ago, but he has indicated that he does not have the time to maintain it any more. The project has been starred on GitHub more than 260 times.

Did you know …

  • … the English county of Devon has adopted special notation on road signs? The goal is to indicate that specific roads or routes are not suitable for various types of vehicles, including those towing caravans.
  • … the wiki page on homonymous keys? The page is largely maintained by Minh Nyugen, and it identifies keys that mean different things according to how they are used.
  • … the complete tools collection for OpenStreetMap built by Pascal Neis?

Other “geo” things

  • GeoHipster is planning to publish a calendar again for 2022 and is asking for submissions of your maps.
  • Ars Technica reported on new technical analyses of the Vinland Map (of the North American Atlantic coast), long suspected of being a fake. The new data remove any residue of doubt that it is, indeed, a fake. X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy was used to analyse the elemental composition of the entire map. This confirmed the presence of titanium dioxide, a pigment which only started being used in the 1920s, throughout the lines and text of the map. A true medieval gall ink would have had considerable quantities of iron instead.
  • Jdanni’s diary is less about whether smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map, but much more about GNSS position accuracy in various scenarios reported in the links.
  • The Thermal Energy Company of Gdynia has published (pl) > en
    a map showing thermal energy losses across the city and adjacent communities.
  • Yarik32 has written (ru) > de a tutorial on how to create OSM-based memes using Overpass Turbo and QGIS.

Upcoming Events

Where What Online When Country
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
臺北市 OpenStreetMap x Wikidata Taipei #33 osmcalpic 2021-10-04 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

Note:
If you like to see your event here, please put it into the OSM calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Nordpfeil, PierZen, SK53, Strubbl, TheSwavu, YoViajo, arnalielsewhere, derFred.

6 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 583

  1. says:

    “Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.”
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter says:

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that “smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map”? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven says:

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst says:

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.