hebdoOSM 583

14/09/2021-20/09/2021

lead picture

b-unicycling : Relevé sur le terrain → StreetComplete → Notes → Editeur → Données OSM [1] © b-unicycling | données cartographiques © Contributrices et contributeurs OpenStreetMap

Cartographie

  • Des demandes de commentaires ont été faites sur les propositions suivantes :
    • natural=fumarole pour cartographier une ouverture de la croûte terrestre émettant de la vapeur et des gaz.
    • outlet=* pour cartographier les sorties de buses ou de tuyaux avec plus de détails.
    • historic=creamery pour baliser un bâtiment industriel où l’on fabriquait du beurre, du fromage ou des glaces à partir du lait.
  • La proposition club=cadet, destinée à être utilisée pour cartographier les lieux de rencontre des différents groupes de cadets, ainsi que les détails de chaque groupe, a été acceptée sans opposition.
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel (pseudo b-unicycling), une contributrice irlandaise, montre en détail (en) dans une vidéo comment enregistrer des rangées d’espaces vides dans OSM. Lorsqu’elle se rend sur place, elle utilise StreetComplete pour laisser des notes dans OSM, qu’elle édite ensuite dans iD.
  • Carl Myhill s’est plaint (en) auprès de Komoot que leur application propose des itinéraires aux cyclistes sur des chemins où la pratique du vélo est interdite, et passible d’une amende de 60 £, dans RIchmond Park, à Londres. Komoot exige une notification formelle de ce type de problème, qui a été fournie par les Royal Parks. Au Royaume-Uni, on ne peut pas supposer que les chemins cartographiés comme voie, service, sentier permettent un mode d’accès autre que privé sans autre marquage explicite. Komoot, cependant, ne suit pas ces valeurs par défaut.
  • Pendant 5 jours, les personnes participant à la « Bataille cartographique universitaire 2021 » ont cartographié (en) près de 93 000 bâtiments en Indonésie.
  • Barry McGuire a suggéré (en) une révision à grande échelle sur la façon dont les balises highway=trunk et highway=primary sont utilisées au Royaume-Uni, avec une proposition associée sur le wiki. Malheureusement, au lieu d’évaluer les réactions sur la liste de diffusion et sur le wiki (en), il a effectué un certain nombre de modifications en suivant son nouveau schéma. Si l’on en juge par les commentaires sur les modifications (en), celles-ci n’ont pas été populaires et ont maintenant été annulées.
  • Sur le forum, NicoHood a posé (en) une question sur l’utilisation de la clé class:bicycle pour les côtés gauche et droit des routes. La plupart des réponses suggèrent d’utiliser d’autres balises, plus objectives.
  • LysSioS a signalé qu’ils ont fini de cartographier les adresses dans la commune d’Alès. La cartographie des adresses rurales s’est avérée beaucoup plus longue que celle des adresses urbaines.
  • mariotomo décrit (en) en détail comment capturer les tronçons de route manquants à l’aide de la carte de chaleur à faible résolution de Strava. Toutefois, il note avec une légère ironie : « La pratique de la cartographie décrite ici est entièrement manuelle, et sa rapidité est évidemment inversement proportionnelle à la précision souhaitée ».
  • mdroad a mis au point (en) une matrice de décision pour la classification des routes. Pour les personnes débutantes, les pages wiki Highways (en) et Highway_tagging_samples/out_of_town (en) avec leurs images sont également très utiles.
  • L’utilisateur de Reddit sporesofdoubt a terminé (en) la micro-cartographie des 183 parcs de la ville de Phoenix, en Arizona, au cours de l’été (nous avions signalé le cap atteint des 100 parcs)

Communauté

  • Les enregistrements du webinaire de HOT intitulé Local OSM Community Building : Tips, Tricks and Challenges sont maintenant (en) disponibles.
  • cmoffroad exprime (en) les points de vue d’un nouveau cartographe dans OSM en Thaïlande. AlsakdDave, nitinatsangsit et Bernhard Hiller essaient de saisir les frustrations du débutant avec leurs connaissances locales.
  • Free Local Mappers de Guinée, dans sa volonté de promouvoir les SIG et l’ouverture des données spatiales, a récemment organisé une série de formations sur les SIG et la télédétection pour les employé·e·s d’une entreprise internationale basée à Conakry.
  • La conférence sur l’état de la carte (State of the Map) a commencé à télécharger les vidéos du mois de juillet sur Youtube (en) et media.ccc.de (en).Les interventions ayant fait l’objet d’une traduction audio dans d’autres langues seront mises en ligne dès qu’elles auront été finalisées par les traducteur·trice·s bénévoles.
  • L’association Trufi a embauché (en) une équipe de cinq personnes, après deux ans d’activité en tant qu’ONG entièrement bénévole pour la cartographie des transports publics.
  • Le contributeur Tirkon s’est plaint (de) > fr, sur le forum allemand, du non-rafraîchissement des tuiles OSM. La discussion qui s’ensuit couvre un grand nombre de sujets concernant la manière dont les mises à jour des cartes arrivent sur les écrans des utilisateurs.

Fondation OpenStreetMap

  • Le groupe de travail d’ingénierie d’OSMF recherche (en) des personnes ayant des connaissances dans les technologies utilisées dans les systèmes clés d’OSM : Rails port, Ruby on Rails en général et l’implantation cgimap de l’API OSM. Mais des connaissances en conception d’interface utilisateur sont également les bienvenues.

OSM et l’humanitaire

  • OSGeo et HOT ont signé (en) un protocole d’accord dans le but d’encourager l’utilisation de logiciels géospatiaux libres, afin de permettre un développement participatif piloté par la communauté.

Cartes

  • L’observatoire français de la qualité de l’air ATMO a publié Atmo Data, une carte montrant de multiples données mesurées à l’échelle nationale et qui utilise OpenStreetMap comme fond de carte.
  • Tracestrack invite les gens à tester son service de tuiles (en). Les utilisateur·trice·s peuvent le faire gratuitement jusqu’en mars 2022. La carte est basée sur le style OSM-Carto, avec quelques caractéristiques uniques : prise en charge de plusieurs balises supplémentaires, telles que highway=busway, embankment=yes, et landuse=aquaculture, aires d’autoroute semi-transparentes, étiquettes linguistiques séparées et bâtiments en 3D. Malheureusement, l’attribution appropriée est cachée.

switch2OSM

  • SomeoneElse fournit (en) une documentation supplémentaire pour construire un serveur de tuiles sur Ubuntu 21.04. Cette dernière n’étant pas une version à long terme, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS reste la plateforme préférée pour une mise en production. Il note également quelques problèmes qui peuvent survenir en suivant ces instructions.

Données ouvertes

  • Le site web datos.gob.es, une plateforme du gouvernement espagnol pour la promotion des données ouvertes, a inclus (es) l’application Organic Maps dans son catalogue, soulignant qu’il s’agit d’une application open source et qu’elle est basée sur les données OpenStreetMap.

Licences

  • Owen Boswarva a indiqué (en) que la publication de données ouvertes sur les infrastructures électriques au Royaume-Uni est prévue pour octobre. Jo Walsh (ultrazool) a demandé (en) quelle licence sera utilisée, ce qui a donné lieu à une brève discussion sur l’adéquation de diverses licences ouvertes pour les données ouvertes non gouvernementales.

Applications

  • Juste à temps pour le début de l’automne dans l’hémisphère nord, l’application OpenSnowMap pour les appareils mobiles a été entièrement révisée (en).

Développement

  • Le projet Overpass API Python Wrapper est à la recherche (en) d’un·e nouveau·elle mainteneur·se. Martijn van Exel a commencé ce projet il y a 7 ans, mais il indique qu’il n’a plus le temps de le maintenir. Le projet a été étoilé sur GitHub plus de 260 fois.

Connaissez-vous ? …

  • … la notation spéciale sur les panneaux de signalisation routière que le comté anglais du Devon a adoptée (en) ? L’objectif est d’indiquer que certaines routes ou certains itinéraires ne sont pas adaptés à différents types de véhicules, y compris ceux qui tractent des caravanes.
  • .. la page wiki sur les clés homonymes (en) ? La page est largement maintenue par Minh Nyugen ; elle identifie les clés qui ont en fait des significations différentes selon la façon dont elles sont utilisées.
  • … la collection complète d’outils pour OpenStreetMap de Pascal Neis ?

Autres sujets géographiques

  • GeoHipster prévoit un nouveau calendrier pour 2022 et vous invite (en) à lui soumettre vos cartes.
  • Ars Technica a fait état (en) de nouvelles analyses techniques de la carte du Vinland (c’est-à-dire des côtes de l’Amérique du nord), longtemps soupçonnée d’être un faux. Les nouvelles données éliminent tout résidu de doute sur le fait qu’il s’agit bien d’un faux. La spectroscopie par fluorescence X a été utilisée pour analyser la composition élémentaire de l’ensemble de la carte. Cette analyse a confirmé la présence de dioxyde de titane, un pigment qui n’a commencé à être utilisé que dans les années 1920, dans les lignes et le texte de la carte. Une véritable encre métallo-gallique médiévale aurait eu des quantités considérables de fer à la place.
  • Dire que les traces relevées par des ordiphones polluent la carte OSM, réfère à l’imprécision des positions des systèmes de navigation par satellite dans divers scénarios comme le montrent les liens figurant dans l’article du journal personnel de jidanni.
  • La Compagnie d’énergie thermique de Gdynia a publié (pl) > fr une carte montrant les pertes d’énergie thermique dans la ville et les communautés adjacentes.
  • Yarik32 écrit (ru) > fr un tutoriel sur la façon de créer des mèmes basés sur OSM en utilisant Overpass Turbo et QGIS.

Événements à venir

Quoi Online Quand Pays
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
Amsterdam OSM Nederland maandelijkse bijeenkomst (online) osmcalpic 2021-09-25 flag
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

Note: Pour que votre événement apparaisse dans l’hebdoOSM, ajoutez-le au calendrier OSM.

Cet hebdoOSM a été préparé par Lejun, PierZen, SK53, Strubbl, TheSwavu, arnalielsewhere, deeplPro API Call, derFred, renecha.

6 thoughts on “hebdoOSM 583

  1. dit :

    « Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe. »
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter dit :

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that « smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map »? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven dit :

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst dit :

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.

weeklyOSM 583

14/09/2021-20/09/2021

lead picture

b-unicycling: Survey → StreetComplete → Notes → Editor → OSM Data [1] © b-unicycling | map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Mapping

  • Requests have been made for comments on the following proposals:
    • natural=fumarole to map an opening in a planet’s crust, which emits steam and gases.
    • outlet=* to map culvert or pipeline outlets with more details.
    • historic=creamery for tagging an industrial building where butter, cheese or ice cream was made from milk.
  • The proposal club=cadet, intended to be used to map the locations where various Youth Cadet groups meet, together with details of each group, has been approved with 15 votes for, 0 votes against and 1 abstention.
  • [1] Anne-Karoline Distel aka b-unicycling, an Irish craftmapper, showed in a video how to capture details of vacant properties in OSM. When walking on site, she uses StreetComplete to leave notes in OSM, which she then edits in iD.
  • Carl Myhill complained to Komoot that it was routing cyclists in Richmond Park (London) on paths where cycling is forbidden, and subject to a £60 fine. Komoot requires formal notification of such issues and this was provided by the Royal Parks. In the UK ways mapped as track, service, or path cannot be assumed to allow any access mode other than private without other explicit tagging. Komoot, however, does not follow these defaults.
  • Over a period of five days, participants of University Battle Mapping 2021 mapped over 93,000 buildings in Indonesia.
  • Barry McGuire suggested a large scale revision of how the highway=trunk and highway=primary tags are used in the UK, including an associated proposal on the wiki. Unfortunately, instead of assessing feedback on the mailing list, and the wiki, he made a number of edits following his new scheme. Judging by changeset comments these were not popular and have now been reverted.
  • On the forum NicoHood asked about using the class:bicycle key for the left and right sides of highways. Most responses suggest using alternative, more objective, tags.
  • LysSioS reported (fr) > en
    that they have finished mapping addresses in the commune of Alès. Mapping rural addresses proved to be much more time consuming than urban ones.
  • mariotomo described in detail how to capture missing road sections using Strava’s low-res heatmap. However, he notes slightly ironically: ‘The mapping practice described here is completely manual, and its speed is obviously inversely proportional to the desired precision’.
  • mdroad has come up with a decision matrix for classifying roads. For beginners, the wiki pages Highways and Highway_tagging_samples/out_of_town with their pictures are also very helpful.
  • Reddit user sporesofdoubt has now completed micro-mapping the 183 city parks in Phoenix, Arizona over the summer (we reported them reaching the 100 park milestone earlier).

Community

  • The recordings of HOT’s webinar Local OSM Community Building: Tips, Tricks and Challenges are now available.
  • cmoffroad outlined their experience of being a new OSM mapper in Thailand. AlaskaDave, nitinatsangsit and Bernhard Hiller tried to ease the frustrations of the beginner with their local knowledge.
  • Free Local Mappers from Guinea, in its drive to promote GIS and openness of spatial data, recently conducted(fr) > en a series of GIS and remote sensing training sessions for employees of an international firm based in Conakry.
  • The State of the Map conference has begun uploading videos from July to YouTube and media.ccc.de. The talks that had audio translations into other languages will be uploaded when they have been finalised by the volunteer translators.
  • Trufi Association has hired a staff of five professionals, graduating from the public transport mapping organisation’s two-year run as an all-volunteer NGO.
  • User Tirkon complained (de) > en, on the German forum, about OSM tiles not refreshing. The ensuing discussion covers a lot of ground regarding how map updates get to users’ screens.

OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • The Engineering Working Group of OSMF is looking for people with knowledge of the technologies used in OSM’s key systems: Rails port, Ruby on Rails in general, and the cgimap implementation of the OSM API. Knowledge of user interface design would be also welcome.

Humanitarian OSM

  • OSGeo and HOT signed a memorandum of understanding with the goal of fostering the use of open-source geospatial software, to enable participatory community-driven development.

Maps

  • The French air quality observatory ATMO’s Atmo Data released (fr) a map showing measured data nationwide which uses OpenStreetMap as a baselayer.
  • Tracestrack is inviting people to trial its tile service. Users can do this for free until March 2022. The map is based on the OSM-Carto style, with some unique characteristics: support for several extra tags, such as highway=busway,embankment=yes, and landuse=aquaculture, semi-transparent highway areas, separated language labels and 3D buildings. Unfortunately the appropriate attribution is hidden.

switch2OSM

  • SomeoneElse has provided additional documentation for building a tile server on Ubuntu 21.04. This is not a long-term support release so Ubuntu 20.04 LTS is still the preferred platform for production. He also notes a couple of issues which may occur whilst following these instructions.

Open Data

  • The website datos.gob.es, a platform where the Spanish government promotes open data, has included (es) the Organic Maps (es) > en app in its catalogue, highlighting that it is an open source app and is based on OpenStreetMap data.

Licences

  • Owen Boswarva reported that open data on power infrastructure in the UK are scheduled for release in October. Jo Walsh (ultrazool) asked about which licence would be used, resulting in a short discussion about the suitability of various open licences for non-government open data.

Software

Programming

  • The Overpass API Python Wrapper project is looking for a new maintainer. Martijn van Exel started this project 7 years ago, but he has indicated that he does not have the time to maintain it any more. The project has been starred on GitHub more than 260 times.

Did you know …

  • … the English county of Devon has adopted special notation on road signs? The goal is to indicate that specific roads or routes are not suitable for various types of vehicles, including those towing caravans.
  • … the wiki page on homonymous keys? The page is largely maintained by Minh Nyugen, and it identifies keys that mean different things according to how they are used.
  • … the complete tools collection for OpenStreetMap built by Pascal Neis?

Other “geo” things

  • GeoHipster is planning to publish a calendar again for 2022 and is asking for submissions of your maps.
  • Ars Technica reported on new technical analyses of the Vinland Map (of the North American Atlantic coast), long suspected of being a fake. The new data remove any residue of doubt that it is, indeed, a fake. X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy was used to analyse the elemental composition of the entire map. This confirmed the presence of titanium dioxide, a pigment which only started being used in the 1920s, throughout the lines and text of the map. A true medieval gall ink would have had considerable quantities of iron instead.
  • Jdanni’s diary is less about whether smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map, but much more about GNSS position accuracy in various scenarios reported in the links.
  • The Thermal Energy Company of Gdynia has published (pl) > en
    a map showing thermal energy losses across the city and adjacent communities.
  • Yarik32 has written (ru) > de a tutorial on how to create OSM-based memes using Overpass Turbo and QGIS.

Upcoming Events

Where What Online When Country
OSM Africa Monthly Mapathon: Map Malawi osmcalpic 2021-09-04 – 2021-10-04
FOSS4G 2021 Buenos Aires – Online Edition osmcalpic 2021-09-27 – 2021-10-02
Bremen Bremer Mappertreffen (Online) osmcalpic 2021-09-27 flag
Grenoble Mapathon Missing Maps – Cartographier des cartes humanitaires sur un mode collaboratif et libre. osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
San Jose South Bay Map Night osmcalpic 2021-09-29 flag
Derby East Midlands OSM Pub Meet-up : Derby osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
Bruxelles – Brussel Virtual OpenStreetMap Belgium meeting osmcalpic 2021-09-28 flag
okres Žilina Missing Maps mapathon Slovakia online #4 osmcalpic 2021-09-30 flag
京田辺市 京都!街歩き!マッピングパーティ:第26回 Re:一休寺 osmcalpic 2021-10-02 flag
臺北市 OpenStreetMap x Wikidata Taipei #33 osmcalpic 2021-10-04 flag
Greater London Missing Maps London Mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Landau an der Isar Virtuelles Niederbayern-Treffen osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Stuttgart Stuttgarter Stammtisch (Online) osmcalpic 2021-10-05 flag
Greater London London pub meet-up osmcalpic 2021-10-06 – 2021-10-07 flag
Hlavní město Praha Online validation mapathon osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
Nordrhein-Westfalen OSM-Treffen Bochum (Oktober) osmcalpic 2021-10-07 flag
UN Mappers: MaPathon – le Università a servizio della cooperazione internazionale osmcalpic 2021-10-08
Berlin 160. Berlin-Brandenburg OpenStreetMap Stammtisch osmcalpic 2021-10-08 flag
Henrietta Township Journey to the Centers of Michigan osmcalpic 2021-10-09 flag
Zürich OSM-Treffen Zürich osmcalpic 2021-10-11 flag
Hamburg Hamburger Mappertreffen osmcalpic 2021-10-12 flag
OpenStreetMap Michigan Meetup osmcalpic 2021-10-15

Note:
If you like to see your event here, please put it into the OSM calendar. Only data which is there, will appear in weeklyOSM.

This weeklyOSM was produced by Nordpfeil, PierZen, SK53, Strubbl, TheSwavu, YoViajo, arnalielsewhere, derFred.

6 thoughts on “weeklyOSM 583

  1. says:

    “Im Vereinigten Königreich kann nicht davon ausgegangen werden, dass Wege, die als „track“, „service“ oder „path“ kartiert sind, ohne weitere explizite Kennzeichnung eine andere Zugangsart als die private zulassen. Komoot hält sich jedoch nicht an diese Vorgabe.”
    da sollte man m.E. weniger Komoot den Vorwurf machen, in OSM sind highways wie path ohne weitere tags erstmal öffentlich und wenn es anders sein soll, dann muss man Access-tags setzen. Wenn die Mapper in jedem Land eigene und vor allem andere bzw. gar gegensätzliche Regeln aufstellen würden, dann könnte man OSM bald vergessen. Solange es nur in UK gemacht wird, funktioniert halt dort das Routing mit den meisten apps nicht.

  2. Charlotte Wolter says:

    The Jidanni item reads like it starts in the middle of the story. Who is this person and why are you evaluating her/his diary? What made you (or anyone) think that the diary was saying that “smartphone track logs pollute the OSM map”? Why did you change your mind? What do other people think?
    Most important, how did is this person’s diary and their views stimulate this very odd contribution to the OSM Weekly? How about some context!

    1. Sven says:

      Hi Charlotte, i think weeklyOSM is not about giving and explaining context. It is about showing what is going on in the OSM universe. Maybe you can direct some questions to the comments of the diary entry itself?

      The decision of the author of this item to add it to weeklyOSM might be to provoke thinking about the view of this article’s content. Nothing special about the person who wrote the article. I think there are a lot of people who are monitoring all blog posts being published to the OSM blogs. This is easily possible via RSS subscription.

  3. Richard Fairhurst says:

    @Dieterdreist If I can get it right for cycle.travel (staff: me, part-time) then I think Komoot, with a full-time staff of 75 and numerous freelance employees, can be reasonably expected to put a tiny bit of effort in.

Comments are closed.